Best Moments of Courage (2013)

Every year, near the end of the year, I like to review some of the best moments on Courage 2 Create.

Here are 2013’s most popular posts (and a few great posts you might have missed) enjoy!

Best Moments of Courage for 2013

Reader’s Picks

Here are the posts that you clicked on the most:

5 Ways To Bring Excitement Back Into Your Life

With all that’s been going on in the world lately, it’s no wonder its hard for most of you to stay enthused about life. Luckily, this post helped you bring that spark back–at least for a little while.

3 Steps To Finding (And Following) Your Calling In Life

What is your calling? How do you find it? And finally: how do you start following it once you know what it is? The answer to all three questions are in this post, which I think was rightfully popular among all of my readers.

10 Thought-Provoking Interviews With 10 Courageous Creators

I bid a fond farewell to one of my favorite series on the C2C: interviews with creative experts from all over the world and from all walks of life.

A Beginning Meditation Guide For Writers

The popularity of this post made me realize that 1. Most people don’t know how to meditate and 2. Most people REALLY want to learn how to meditate. I guess that bodes well for humanity: we are so fed up with the chaos of modern life that we are more than ready to learn how to enter a constant state of peace.

Stop Hesitating: Take A Step Forward (Even If You Think You Are Not Prepared)

Every once in a while I hit a nerve which causes a deep, visceral reaction among my readers. This was one of those times. (I love it when that happens.)

If you’re stuck right now, read this post and get yourself going again.

The Danger of Living Life In “Past Tense”

There are some posts that I write not with the intention of making them popular, but with the intention of simply expressing a lesson I’ve learned. This is one such post, but its popularity made me happy because it meant that I was truly able to express what I truly wanted to say, which is a nice feeling.

9 Sure-Fire Ways to Meet Your Next Writing Deadline

Deadlines, deadlines, deadlines: you’ve been asking me to write about them for years, but I hesitated because I thought the topic would be too boring and trite. Turns out I was wrong: addressing this topic ended up being very helpful and timely, as you all reinforced with your positive feedback.

Finally Taking Responsibility For Your Life (Or Why Blaming Others Isn’t Helping You)


I wrote this post expecting it was probably not going to go over well with most of you. I anticipated most folks would not like me telling them they had to stop blaming others for their unhappiness. And it’s true: some of you did hate me for saying it, but most of you appreciated it, which is encouraging. It means that my instinct is right: people really hunger to hear the truth, even though it may cause them to take a serious look at their lives.

The Simple 4-Step Formula to Becoming More Disciplined

Who knew it was devotion–and not self-punishment–that was the answer to becoming more disciplined?

What Writers Can Learn From Successful Entrepreneurs: An Interview With Marcia Hoeck

A thorough study in what it means to be a successful entrepreneur. Everybody can learn from this.

Ollin’s Picks

Great posts you might have missed this year:

You Will Recover From This

If this has been a particularly dark, difficult year for you, let this post offer you some solace and much-needed light in your time of deep struggle.

When All Else Fails: Write

And if that fails… write some more.

Why It’s Important to Widen Your View of What’s Possible

Life only gets wider the more you live it.

The Downside of Modernity

It was that time I wrote about our lighting-fast, tech-saturated culture and how I hated Google Glass. Remember that? Now I realize that in my passion maybe I went a bit too far: Google Glass is probably not the end of humanity as we know it–it’ll just make us all look like jackasses.

Allowing Yourself to Break Before You Bloom

This was a very quiet, unassuming post, mostly overlooked by my readers, but it was really representative of the earthquake-like shift I was going through at that moment. Unfortunately it is in one of those posts that only resonates with you if you are actually experiencing the “breaking” I am describing in this post. If you aren’t, the whole post probably ends up being kinda cheesy.

Writers and Their Love Stories: Part I and II

This year, my romantic life played out on my blog for all America to see. Yeah. That happened. But thankfully, this post ended up being less “reality TV show drama” and more of a rumination on love stories themselves, and why we are so obsessed with them. In the end, the abrupt, ironic conclusion of my love story only feeds more to the mystery of love itself, and to the frustration that many of us find when we try to solve Love’s deep mystery–only to find ourselves more bewildered and perplexed at the end of the search than when we started.

How To Get Work

You wanna hot body? You wanna Bugatti? You wanna Maserati? You better work, b**ch.

How To Be Perfect (A.KA. How To Let Yourself Be Imperfect and Win Big Every Time)

One of the most important lessons of this year: understanding that “The Perfection Game” is rigged for you to fail.

5 Strategies for Dealing with Difficult People

Oh yeah. These strategies work. Just try it out today on your nearest and dearest douchebag.

10 Steps Toward True Forgiveness

Forgiveness isn’t the easy and quick fix some people make it out to be: it is a mammoth feat of heroism that requires infinite patience—and infinite love.

What was your favorite post of this year? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below!

(Oh and don’t forget: Courage 2 Create’s very first eBook launches next week on December 2nd!!!! AHHHHH!!!! YOU EXCITED!!!!?? I AM!!!!)

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page

Follow Ollin On Twitter

Friend Ollin On Facebook

One comment on “Best Moments of Courage (2013)

  1. Rachael McNaught says:

    Hi Ollin

    Happy end of 2013! Thanks for another year of interesting emails and discussion🙂

    I just have one little itsy bitsy thing to say … I wasn’t going to, but then you posted the hide your dream thing again and I got all wound up (again). See, I know I have about ten-twenty years more life experience than you and I can tell you for a fact that you are wrong.

    You can find out why here, (http://lifewithtwins.co.nz/dream-on-a-letter-to-the-selfish-and-scared) but the big takeaway is “Don’t hide your dreams, set them free.” Or I suppose you could call it the dream version of “allowing yourself to break before you bloom”😉

    All the best with your eBook launch, enjoy Brothers and Sisters, oh, and have a great Thanksgiving!

    Take care,

    Rachael

    Life with Twins Rachael McNaught, Author Google Plus

    Date: Mon, 25 Nov 2013 11:08:10 +0000 To: btr72@hotmail.co.uk

Comments are closed.