Ask Me Anything: Q & A with The Author

Hello courageous creators,

I’ve decided that today I’d dedicate the entire blog post to answering your questions in the comments below.

And, specifically, TODAY from 12-1pm Pacific time, I will be answering your questions LIVE!!!! [NOTE: The live session is over, but throughout the week, you can still leave me a question in the comments and I will make sure to answer, it just won’t be right away.๐Ÿ™‚ ]

THAT’S RIIIIGHT. LIIIIIIIVE!

Oh yeahhhhhh. Reader interaction. So cool. So Web 2.0. Soooo…totahllly… swazzeh.

(That’s right. I coined a word. It meansย “cool” and “awesome” and “slightly nerdy” all at the same time: swazzeh. Yeah. As in “Why is Ollin so swazzeh?” or “Matching that motorcycle jacket with that argyle sweater is soooo swazzeh!” or “That chess game I just played with Jay-Z was so swazzeh!”)

Anyways, moving on…

You can ask me anything-just don’t be dirty.ย This blog is PG, folks.ย 

(I’ll be moderating comments so, no, there will be no in-depth discussion of what different hallucinogenic drugs I took during my trip to Vegas–drugs that may or may not have led me to coin a new word that sounds like I stole it from the minority sidekick character on your averageย Disney Channel show: swazzeh!)

Today you can ask me “what’s your favorite color?” or “where in the world would you travel to if you had the chance?” or “when was the last time you played a game of pogs?”–remember those? Ahhh, 90’s nostalgia—or “what’s your favorite ice cream flavor?” or “who would you want to illegally co-own a koala bear with?” or “since when did everyone and their mom start liking Pitbull? I mean he’s all right… but not that great… dale…”ย 

ANYTHING!!!

Go ahead. Ask away.

much swazzeh,

Ollin

Today’s Courage Exercise

Ask me anything in the comments below.

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

21 comments on “Ask Me Anything: Q & A with The Author

  1. Swazzeh! Dear Ollin, do you think of writing a memoir someday? Maybe a collection of your blog posts + a little more? Or are you strictly a fiction writer when it comes to publishing books? Thanks, Dana
    danabeesvoice.wordpress.com
    Denver, CO

    • Ollin says:

      Great question, Dana. I’m going to give you a very long answer:

      I never intended the blog to become like a memoir. As you have noticed, my Man In Progress series (which you can follow at the link on the top of the site) has become more and more “memoir-like” and for those of you following, my Writers and Their Love Stories section is about to get a whole lot more interesting.๐Ÿ˜‰

      If I do write a memoir in the future it will be an adaptation of the Man In Progress series which follows my progress in the area of my personal health, my romantic relationships, and my career.

      In the meantime, I am writing a eBook inspired by the blog which at this point is being given a design. I am planning to launch it November 1st of this year, and you are hearing this first here. So some news for you.

      i hope that answers your questions, by the way, you can do follow up questions if you wish. I’m game for that, we can use this as a discussion type thing.

      I’ve never done this before so let’s experiment shall we?

      • I like the Man in Progress series, so I’m looking forward to the release of the ebook in November. Yay!

        • Ollin says:

          Yeah, well the eBook is NOT based on the man in progress series. Sorry if i wasn’t clear. The eBook is largely based on the posts that teach you how to be a more whole writer: how to follow your passion, how to deal with emotions, how to be more healthy, how to remove writers block. These are the core principles of the C2C.

          In case folks are curious: the eBook is going to teach you how to remove any blocks that you have and help you figure out your passion so that you can finally move forward with it. It’s not just for writers, it will be for everyone, but obviously writers will benefit from it.

          As far as a memoir, which is a lot more story structure, that will have to be finished, well when my story of writing my novel is done.

          And that means that yes, this blog will have an ending. Sorry to say it.๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hey, Ollin, how are we supposed to have this conference – phone, blog, comments???

    • Ollin says:

      We are doing this just through comments for now. I’ve thought about doing a google chat in the future. But let’s try this first, see how it goes? Thanks for participating Dana!๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ollin says:

    Okay readers, so here’s how this is going to work, just leave a comment like you normally would, and i will reply directly to you. I am answering live for the next hour, and depending how it goes, i a may do another hour session later today for the east coast folk. We will see. So the floor is open. I am listening. What questions do you have?

  4. Ollin says:

    Oh, you guys and gals are just being shy. I already know my readers well. You like to quietly observe like me. I know your listening. Just ask… i won’t bite.๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. So, what is your favorite color, she asked, filling up space.

  6. Hi Ollin! I love your site. You seem like someone I would have a blast hanging out with, and you’re incredibly inspirational.

    My question is, what is your favorite thing to do for fun?

    Oh, and boxers or briefs? (Yeah, I’m stalking you on Facebook, too. =p)

    • Ollin says:

      Why Thank you Diane. How sweet of you to say!

      An answer to your question: You know, i love just hanging out with my friends. One of my favorite things to do is just go out to a bar with them and talk for hours, laugh, and tell jokes. I have some pretty amazing friends, I have to say. I am very lucky in that respect.

      One thing that may fascinate you is that my friends are not writers, they are not even creative people, they have jobs like engineer and accountant and math teacher, etc. I feel that they keep me grounded int hat respect, but its great, because i get to push them and challenge them.

      You really want to have friends that will challenge you push you make you a bit uncomfortable so that you are all always growing together. It’s really nice.

      Does that sound boring? Haha.

      • That’s not boring in the least. I don’t have many friends in the sense that I have no one to hang out with or go out anywhere. But since I started writing again, I’ve met a ton of wonderful people online who I am grateful to call my friends. Many of them are writers, who provide camaraderie, a sense of not being alone in our joys or our struggles. But many of them have other jobs, interests, and hobbies, and it’s nice to be able to talk to them about non-work related things.

        As for part two, I think it’s awesome and hilarious that you actually answered that! If you ever come to the Lehigh Valley area in Pennsylvania, I want to buy you a drink.

        • Ollin says:

          Haha. Well I wasn’t going to, but I kinda set myself up for that one by putting it out there when promoting this q and a. So it was kinda my fault.

          Well, that is so sweet of you. Yeah, well, hopefully one day i’ll be touring my fiction book and stopping by at different places in the world. I have readers from all over, so I expect I’ll be asking folks to meet up and show me around their towns. I really look forward to that. Being a blogger, I’ve been blessed to get to know so many of my readers and you guys are from Austrailia, and Africa, to Greece, England, europe, canada–all over the place.

          So basically I got couches to crash all over the world. Which i am really looking forward to.๐Ÿ™‚

          • That sounds like so much fun. I hope to be able to do that someday, too (although I’d rather do it for my singing than for my writing, if I have to choose between the two). Much more intimate and meaningful than meeting people who are waiting for you in the hotel lobby.

          • Oh, and hint hint, the Lehigh Valley features some of the best bars, restaurants, entertainment, music, and art anywhere in the country, and even the world. Crayola, Musikfest (the largest music festival in the country), Just Born (maker of Peeps), and the Moravian Book Store, the world’s oldest continually operated book store. Perfect location for a book tour stop…๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Ollin says:

    Oh and well, haha, the answer to your second question is boxers AND briefs. I mix it up.๐Ÿ˜‰ Great. I’m blushing now. Thanks. Haha.

  8. Ollin says:

    Any other questions? We got 20 minutes left. If no more there’s no more questions we can end this early. I suspect it’s because a lot of my east coast fans are still at work. It’s always hard with the time difference….

  9. Ollin says:

    Okay, seeing as there’s no more questions. I’m heading out.

    In interim, you can still ask me questions, I just won’t be answering them live, but I will get to them then!

    Thank you Dana and Diana for participating, you gals have a wonderful day.๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I have lived all my working life writing for others – newspaper articles, manuals, course content etc, but I never realised how much energy creative writing requires. Some of the problem (I think) is that now I am writing for myself deadlines aren’t so critical. Any suggestions on keeping focused?

    • Ollin says:

      Follow the love. What are you most passionate about? Engage in the idea or story you love the most. Don’t settle for like or interested in. Pure unadulterated love. I also recommend reading the articles on my start here page. If that doesn’t work look out for my ebook set to come out in November.the book is all about curing writers lock which you may be suffering from.

Comments are closed.