Best Moments of Courage (2012)

It’s been quite a year.

This was the year I placed my entire novel in someone else’s hands for feedback for the first time.

It was also the year when my personal life took precedence over my writing: I had to put my novel on the back burner so that I could address some big changes that were happening in my life. Fortunately, the majority of these changes were good, and the whole experience has only led me to mature, grow, and become a new and better man.

However, even though all of these changes were great, it did mean that, for the first time, I didn’t reach my yearly writing goal.

But even though I didn’t reach my yearly writing goal for my novel, this was also the year that the C2C reached its first 1,000 subscribers–and I am very proud of that accomplishment.

Finally: this was the year I started to write the first eBook based on the blog.

Yup, it’s been quite a year.

There was so much good that happened this year that I have already shared with you, there was so much good that happened this year that I probably could never share with you, and there was so much good that happened this year that I look forward to sharing with you soon… (but you’ll have to wait for all that after the break.)

In the meantime: I offer my deepest thanks to all those who have stuck with me during this year of tremendous re-visioning (a re-visioning process that no doubt will continue even after the New Year). Your e-mails, tweets, and messages during this year have truly moved me, inspired me, and have encouraged me to keep up the good work.

I look forward to yet another year of sharing my thoughts and insights with you.

Happy Holidays to you and yours.

much love,

Ollin

P.S. New posts will return to the C2C on January 7th, 2013. In the meantime, I’ll be rolling out some classic C2C posts for your enjoyment.

P.S.S. Oh yeah and, as always, here’s a list of the year’s best moments on Courage 2 Create:

BEST MOMENTS IN COURAGE (2012)

Most Popular Posts of The Year

11 Ways To Get Over Feeling Guilty About Following Your Passion

Here’s how to get over your guilt so that you can finally follow your passion.

When You Have Nothing Left To Lose, You Only Have Everything Left To Gain

I am shocked at how popular this post has become. But I suppose this post touches upon something we can all relate to…

I Was Discriminated Against. Now What?

Never before has the word “bittersweet” been so accurate a descriptor of my experience.

3 Book Series You MUST Read Before You Die (My Final Book Recommendation Post)

My favorite book series–and yours, too.

Don’t Think. Just Do.

Pretty straightforward.

A Beginner’s Guide To Writing

You a beginner? This one’s for you.

How To Speed Through Your Novel’s Second Draft Like A Concert Pianist

This post came at the very end of 2011, so it didn’t get a chance to be featured in 2011’s “Best Of” List, but it was very popular during all of 2012. So there. Leave it alone.

The Unexpected Benefits of Being Worn-Out and Weakened

Who knew being weak could have its upsides?

How To Defy Gravity

Okay, I admit it: I was listening to “Defying Gravity” from Wicked when I wrote this post. What? It’s a great song.

Style Vs. Substance (And The Key To Mastering Both)

Please, Hollywood, can I ‘ave some more… substance?

 Most Popular Guest Posts and Interviews of The Year

9 Ways To Avoid Becoming Bitter and Jaded As You Grow Older

This is another “end-of-2011-post” that never got mentioned in the 2011’s “Best Of” List, but it was so dominant during all of 2012 that it just has to be mentioned.

The Smart Person’s Guide To Quitting Your Day Job and Following Your Wildest Dreams: An Interview With Joanna Penn

Joanna shows us the smart way to drop everything and follow your dreams.

5 Great Reasons To Read Even MORE Than You Already Do

You knew reading was good for you, but did you know it was THIS good for you?

How To Fall In Love With Writing Again

Because sometimes you forgot why you fell in love in with writing in the first place. (Let’s keep it real.)

3 Helpful Tools For Writers Who Struggle With ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder)

Don’t let your ADD get in the way of a successful writing career.

How To Inspire People To Change The World (Without Totally Bumming Them Out)

Inspiring people to activism doesn’t always have to be depressing.

5 Simple (But Surprisingly Effective) Ways To Research Your Story

So simple… yet so effective.

You Are Exactly Where You Need To Be

Feel like you’re on the wrong track? Maybe the “wrong track” is the right track.

5 Ways To Make Your Writing Funnier (Or: How To Bring More Laughter Into Your Life)

Hi-larious.

The Trick To Keeping The Big Picture In Mind While Working Out All The Details

Because sometimes it’s hard to wrap your head around that big ol’ hunk of a manuscript.

Ollin’s Picks

(Great posts from this year that you might have missed.)

How To Rise

It may seem simple, but when you feel like there is a “new day” rising in your life, it is so essential that you have a vision of what you want that new day to be like, so that you can take full advantage of it. I know even more so now that this simple lesson should not be ignored.

10 Exercises To Help You Recognize The Blessings In Your Life

This was such a huge paradigm shift moment for me this year: if you can really, truly recognize your life as a blessing, your world will change dramatically for the better.

How To Prioritize Your Dreams So You Can Finally Make REAL Progress On Them

Prioritizing your dreams is another simple idea, but it’s so important if you want to move forward.

3 Ways Jealousy Isn’t Serving You (And 3 Ways To Make It Serve You)

What your “green-eyed monster” can teach you.

What Writers Should Do When Drawing A Blank (Or How To Be Your Natural, Unencumbered Self)

Having trouble writing today? Just be you. (My favorite guest post of all the guest posts I wrote for Write To Done this year.)

How To Create The PERFECT Writing Space

This interview I did about writing spaces ended up being more profound than I intended. But that tends to happen to me a lot (if you haven’t noticed).

Why Consistency Isn’t Always A Good Thing

Be reliable, not consistent.

Scars Don’t Make Us Failures: They’re Proof That We Lived

Be proud of your battle scars!

How To Build Strong Foundations Underneath Your Dreams

Why the truth is the best foundation for your dreams.

Writers and Their Career Goals

This was another big epiphany-moment for me this year: realizing that every part of us has its own dream it wants to fulfill. If you can really understand this for yourself then you are making huge progress, my friend.

What was your favorite moment on the C2C this year? Please share your favorites with us in the comments below!

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

9 comments on “Best Moments of Courage (2012)

  1. AH says:

    Great job. I’m supposed to b writing one of those “recap of the blog 2012” bt leaving it till the end

  2. Madison Taylor says:

    Olin You always move me to tears through your powerful, beautiful & Moving writing I am in tears you make me cry because you have an Innate flair & insight into the human spirit Your writing has encouraged me uplifted me and see with a new lens for all you have taught me I am humbly grateful I pray 2013 is your year Many many blessings to you & your family Ps – it was the story on Battle Scars that broke me Sincerely Madison

    Madison Taylor

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Ollin says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Madison! It is good to know that I’ve been doing a good job. Happy Holidays and New Year to you and yours!

  3. Ollin, I love your joyful spirit and the depth of clarity that exudes through your words. This is one of my favorite posts from 2012: When You Have Nothing Left To Lose, You Only Have Everything Left To Gain. I appreciate our connection greatly!

  4. […] Best Moments of Courage (2012) « Courage 2 Create […]

  5. Ash says:

    On a completely random note with little relevance to this blog but relevant to yesterday…worst apocalypse ever

  6. dailyshorts says:

    Great 2012 C2C moments. I had forgotten about some of them and I reread a few as a refresher. Thanks for the recap. I look forward to seeing what you come up in 2013. Have a great holiday!

Comments are closed.