Refresh And Reboot Yourself In 12 Easy Steps

We all have those moments when our moods don’t match the work we’re doing.

But the big difference between a productive writer and an unproductive writer is that the productive writer knows that you can’t always count on being in the right mood for the work—and that’s why she has tools to help refresh and reboot herself on a daily basis.

So, if you’re feeling groggy or sluggish today, here are a few tips on how to help make yourself feel more awake and energized right away.

How To Refresh And Reboot Yourself In 12 Easy Steps

1. Take off your shoes

It’s a simple exercise, I know, but sometimes just taking off your shoes and resting your bare feet across some sand, or some grass, can really freshen you up.

2. Take a shower

I know, this seems like a no-brainer, but sometimes we forget that a quick shower can do WONDERS to how awake and alert we feel.

3. Drink a tall, cold glass of grapefruit juice 

I know, grapefruit juice is not the best tasting beverage, but trust me:

When I drank a whole cup of grapefruit juice recently, I felt so alive and invigorated afterward, and that’s probably because grapefruit juice is all natural and totes refreshing.

(Wait a minute. Did I just adopt “totes” as part of my regular vernacular? Oh my god. What have I become? WHAT HAVE I BECOME!?)

3. Update the old wardrobe

A nice, new clean pair of underwear (or socks) will instantly make you feel more refreshed. Again, it’s a simple little tip, but try it out and see if you don’t feel totes refreshed afterward.

(THERE IT IS AGAIN! Why me?)

4. Update the look

Get a haircut, dye your hair, try on some new make up, and I bet you anything you will feel rebooted right away.

5. Update the scent

Try out a new perfume (or new cologne) this week. Try picking a new scent that makes you feel refreshed. You might want to try a new scent for some other products you own as well like your lotion, your body wash, or your soap.

I love this trick because if you’ve used the same scent for a long time, the sudden change of smell takes a while for you to get used to. So, during the first few days, you often find yourself thinking:

“Wow, who smells so good?”

Then you smile and say to yourself.

“Oh, it’s me! That’s totes awesome.”

(Arrghhhhh!)

6. Change the wallpaper

To feel instantly rebooted, try updating your computer’s desktop wallpaper, changing your blog’s design, or buying a new cover for you iPhone.

“Changing the wallpaper” makes the old and tired look new and refreshing. Which makes you really excited for work again.

(By the way, if you really want to feel refreshed, try literally changing the wallpaper in your office space—or rearranging the furniture!)

7. Take a nap 

A nice 10-15 minute nap should freshen you up a bit.

8. Go for a jog

Take a quick, 15-minute jog around the block in order to feel instantly rebooted.

Going for a jog always makes me feel more cleansed, more clear-headed, more energized, and more focused for work.

9. Try listening to a different type of music than you are used to (or try listening to a type of music you generally don’t like)

Try listening to a different type of music than you are used to in order to feel quickly refreshed. Maybe it’s Country, maybe it’s Rock, whatever it is, it will be very refreshing to you because you won’t be used to hearing it.

Even if you end up hating this new music, it will be a much-needed break from your regular musical routine. What is more: when you get back to your old favorites, they’ll sound brand new again!

Personally, I’ve been branching out into unfamiliar music territory. For instance, I’m actually digging Justin Bieber’s new album right now.

(Wait, what? Totes? Justin Bieber? WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME? AM I SLOWLY TURNING INTO A 14-YEAR-OLD GIRL? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!)

10. Revisit your favorite quotes

If you’re like me, you love inspirational quotes.

I have a Kindle, so all of my favorite quotes are saved all in one place on my eBook reader. So, whenever I feel a bit funky, I’ll re-visit these saved quotes. Suddenly, in no time, my favorite people (like Mark Nepo, Paulo Coelho, Julia Cameron, and Jon O’ Donahue) are whispering little gold nuggets of wisdom to me.

So, if you’re feeling a bit groggy today, gather up your favorite inspirational quotes and read them over again. You’ll feel refreshed and rebooted in no time.

11. Tidy up

Dust your furniture, do the laundry, wash the dishes, wash your car, organize your bookshelf, throw away trash and excess clutter, wipe your windows, do some ironing, or clean your glasses.

Tidy things up a bit.

After you’re done, you’ll feel more energized, refreshed and ready to get back to work.

12. Get dangerous

Okay, to be clear: I don’t mean “get dangerous” in a way that you might hurt yourself or others. I also do not mean that you should do something illegal.

What I mean by “getting dangerous” is that I want you to do something that feels dangerous to you, but that isn’t actually dangerous.

For instance: it may feel dangerous for you to let yourself go on a blind date. But today, instead of being reluctant, be dangerous by actually going on that blind date.

Or: it may feel dangerous for you to write a book about aliens and rock stars competing with each other in an international bowling competition. But, today, instead of being reluctant, be dangerous by actually writing that story.

I know that’s a totes lame example, but I think you get my point.

(There it is again. You know what? I give up. I’m just gonna accept it.)

Doing something that feels dangerous to you (but that is not harmful or illegal) is a great way to reboot yourself whenever you are feeling sluggish or groggy. When you engage in something that feels dangerous to you, the adrenaline usually kicks into your system—waking you up and making you feel alert right away.

Before you know it, you are adequately rebooted and refreshed—and eager to get back to work.

Rebooted and Refreshed

Well, there you have it, readers: my best tips on how to go from “groggy” to “refreshed.” I hope they help you.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to listen to the latest single by Britain’s new pop sensation One Direction. Then, I’m going to Vlog about how K-Stew and R Pat’s break up has seriously compromised The Twilight franchise forever–then I plan on sobbing uncontrollably.

I know: it’s uncharacteristic of me. But boy is it refreshing.

much totes love,

Ollin

How do you refresh and reboot yourself whenever you’re feeling sluggish or groggy? Please share your wisdom with us in the comments below!

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

22 comments on “Refresh And Reboot Yourself In 12 Easy Steps

  1. For me it’s usually a short walk. I don’t want to get too far away from the work, or I won’t come back. LOL

  2. Ollin – do you realize you actually said, ‘digging’? God love ya! I take my dog out for a stroll to refresh – it’s wonderful me time for a writer. Great post will tweet and share tots!

  3. mariaedwina says:

    I dance….dance….dance….dance. All by myself, all around the room. It really gets me going. And, like you, I change up the music, try new tunes, new artists. I also find something funny to laugh out loud about, like your “tots” funny post today.

  4. Linda B says:

    Oh Ollin, how I love to read your words. Who could feel down and out after a read such as this blog. I often do some of your suggestions, but the one I needed to read the most was ‘doing something dangerous’. Stepping out of my comfort zone 🙂

  5. Whenever I feel the need to reboot, I always check out your posts, Ollin. Great one, again! Thanks so much.

  6. You redesigned your blog! (You probably did that earlier, since this is the first time in a week since I directly view a blog post on your site, instead by email.)

    Still, this is one of the funniest blog posts I have ever read.

  7. Yvette Carol says:

    Very comprehensive list you’ve got there, Ollin!
    I can personally vouch for the first one, going barefoot. As a matter of fact, the electromagnetic field of our computers can interfere with our own electromagnetic field if we sit in front of the screen for too long a period. So, going and walking barefoot outside is one of the best ways there is, of getting ourselves ‘grounded’ again.
    Have a happy day!

    • Ollin says:

      Wow. That is so fascinating. How do you know that? Do you have an article you can share with us? Or a book? Or maybe a blog post of yours. I’d be super-interested in reading more about that. I had no idea, I just knew that it worked, but I didn’t know why!

  8. Get up and Disco Dance for 5 minutes!

  9. MarinaSofia says:

    Has it got to be grapefruit juice? Are the others too sweet and nice to you?

  10. A great set of tips – sometimes a walk, shower, or even a shopping spree (or is that one just me?) can help to re-stoke the inner creative fires; but don’t let it turn into procrastination!

Comments are closed.