Don’t Think. Just Do.

Having trouble writing today?

That’s all right.

Don’t think. Just do.

Don’t feel motivated today?

That’s all right.

Don’t think. Just do.

Do you lack inspiration?

That’s all right.

Don’t think. Just do.

Lack the courage?

That’s all right.

Don’t think. Just do.

Can’t create today?

That’s all right.

Don’t think. Just do.

Procrastinating?

Piece of cake: don’t think. Just do.

Tired, exhausted, overwhelmed, stressed out, overburdened, confused–and all of this is making it harder for you to get things done?

Okay.

Then don’t think. Just do.

That’s how you get the writing done.

That’s how you get anything done.

That’s really all it takes: not thinking. Just doing.

“But I can’t. I tried every–“

Don’t think. Just do.

“But, Ollin, I have so many problems to–“

Shhh. Don’t think. Just do.

“Ollin, it really isn’t that easy–“

Yes. It is. Don’t think. Just do.

“You’re not list–“

Don’t THINK. Just DO.

“Hey, I’m not a writer, Ollin. So I don’t think this applies to–“

Don’t think. Just do.

“I just said I’m not a writer, but I am having trouble moving forward in my passion. The more I think about it, the more I–“

Stop thinking your passion and start doing your passion.

“Well, yeah, but it’s not the right time, I don’t have the right people behind me, I don’t know the right people, I don’t have enough time, I don’t have enough money, I’m single, it’s the economy, I’m not smart enough, I’m not good enough, I’m not skilled enough, I’m not worthy enough, I’m not confident enough–“

Dooooooooon’t think. Juuuuuuuuuuuust do.

“But didn’t you just hear what I said?”

Yeah I did. Sounds to me like a lot of thinking and not a lot of doing. Do you think that that might be the reason why things haven’t changed?

“Ooooh, I think I see what you’re getting at–“

Stop THINKING. Start DOING.

“Okay, now you’re just getting annoy–“

STOP THINKING AND START DOING!

“But, don’t I need to learn how to ‘do’ before I do–do?”

No. You’ll learn by doing.

You’ll learn more from doing something than by doing nothing and only thinking about doing something.

Yes doing something may lead you to failure, but it also might lead to you to success.

Whereas if you just think about doing something and don’t do it, you are are certain to always fail.

So, don’t fall into that tricky line of thinking that says that the more you think, the more “able” you’ll be.

No, in reality, thinking is more often an avoidance tactic: the more you think, the more you’ll avoid being able to do anything.

Just thinking about your passion gives you a 0% chance that you’ll succeed. But when you start doing your passion, you increase your chances of success by a whopping 50%.

So: don’t think. Just do.

“But I can’t d–“

Just do.

“But–“

Do.

“I…”

Don’t….

“…can’t…”

…think.

“…write…”

Just…

“…I…”

…do.

“…swear.”

I swear to you: not thinking and just doing works every time.

Put it into practice. Right now.

much “DON’T THINK ABOUT IT! JUST DO IT!”

Ollin

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

41 comments on “Don’t Think. Just Do.

  1. run4joy59 says:

    Excellent! Gotta run, got some stuff to do…

  2. Katie says:

    Well, thank you!! OKAY! I’m going to stop thinking now and just go DO.

  3. I wish you have a LOVE versus LIKE option for this post.

    Thank you.

  4. Candice Carboo-Ofulue says:

    Great!

  5. Perfect advice. I’m up early because of blah blah blah and then… And I’m going to write now. Great stuff, Ollin!

  6. Spijder says:

    I tried to stop myself (but my inner smart-ass just had to take your advice). Will this work for philosophers?

    • Ollin says:

      If the philosopher wants to go to graduate school for philosophy eventually she’ll have to stop thinking and start filling out an application, no?

  7. mrayford says:

    Reblogged this on Unwritten and commented:
    Something I needed to hear today.

  8. Anil says:

    awesome……

  9. Maria Connor says:

    Thank you. This came exactly when I needed it. I’m not thinking…I’m just doing. Writing. Running. Loving.

  10. Divya says:

    This post made me laugh Ollin. Sounds so simple. Let me try.

    “don’t try. Just do.”😀

  11. Laura Lamere says:

    Reblogged this on Laura Lamere and commented:
    This great advice is for writers, but works for everything you want to accomplish. Want to start a band, learn to play an instrument, get in shape? Don’t think. Just do. – with thanks to Ollin Morales

  12. Love the post, Ollin. Sheer motivation for an analytical procrastinator. Thanx!🙂

  13. I love this, Ollin! Just what I needed to hear today (and probably every day). I think I might need to post this phrase where I see it every time I sit down to write. Thank you!!

  14. Deborah Wilhelm says:

    Ollin, This speaks loudly to our human condition, not just to us writers. I’d like to borrow this and reprint it in a workbook I’ve written for a weekly class I teach for trauma survivors at a women’s crises center. May I have permission and give you credit? I have about 22 women in class now, but throughout a year, I could teach as many as 50-100 ladies.

    • Ollin says:

      Of course! I’m flattered that you would want to share something I wrote with others. Yes, feel free to use it and credit me. (If you could give them a link to my blog that would be wonderful, too.) Please let me know if it was helpful to them. Thank you!

  15. […] Don’t Think. Just Do. By Ollin Morales at Courage 2 Create […]

  16. Yvette Carol says:

    Hi Ollin! * waves*
    Boy, I think you can see me and are talking to me right now. I sort of had to look twice once I started reading your post.

    I am a wannabe-writer, who feels she has been prodded by every side to step up to the plate and start my own blog. But just as you’ve said above, I have had every excuse under the sun.
    One excuse used to be that I’m not published yet so who would take me seriously? But that excuse has gone by the wayside. These days they say it’s even better to start blogging before your book comes out. Can’t use that one anymore dagnabit!!

    Then I read a blog post by an agent over at Books & Such. She said that if a client sends her a query and she’s remotely interested, she looks at their blog and their website and if they don’t have either she doesn’t even consider them!! Well if that wasn’t a boot up the pants I don’t know what is. Getting my own website is a bit off the budget radar for now, however what is stopping me starting my own blog?

    Fear.

    Yep you nailed it.

    I was meditating this morning. Because I wrote this blog post that came to me in a dream. I sent it to my sister for feedback. She said it’s good, you GO! And so I feel I teeter on the edge of starting something.

    And now I come online and read this post!!! Yikes. The universe is trying to tell me something!!!!🙂

  17. Daniela says:

    Hi Ollin,

    This is great, thank you. I know I only mustered the courage to blog less than a month ago but it is transforming my life in a way I could never imagine possible. For a start when I was stumbling around waste and bewildering cyber space with my first blog (‘Lantern Post’), I was trying to hide behind an image. Since then (still less than a month ago -:) I found and read all I could about writing and blogging on the web, changed my blogging platform, transformed my blog, published total of 25 posts and unmasked my real identity.

    While there is still, and always will be plenty to learn, I beat my old fears into submission!

    But I did not do it alone. I did with help from people such as you and Jeff Goins, writers and bloggers I admire most. For that I thank you.

    • Ollin says:

      You are very welcome. It is ALWAYs great to hear that I am of help to people. So I appreciate you taking the time to let me know this. It keeps me going!

  18. Tony Criswell says:

    Addressing the old “Paralysis by Analysis” that plagues so many.

  19. Oh yes so true. Today I did something I hadn’t done before. It terrified me, but I did it. Whether it goes well or not, I am one step further on in my writing journey.

  20. RD Meyer says:

    Absolutely spot on advice. If we allow ourselves to get wrapped up in our doubts, we’ll never get anything written – such is our nature.

  21. ansuyo says:

    Love it🙂 OK, I get the point, off to DO. Angie

Comments are closed.