Feeling Overwhelmed and Overstimulated? Here’s The Cure.

Feeling overwhelmed or overstimulated?

Try this:

Listen to the silence.

Hear the space in between all the noise.

Listen to the silence.

Hear the space in between each heartbeat coming from your chest.

Listen to the silence.

Hear the space in between the bird song just outside your window.

Listen to the silence.

Shut down your computer.

Then, listen to the silence.

Shut off your phone.

Then, listen to the silence.

Hear the space in between the digital world and the physical world.

Notice there is a space there. A big one.

Hear that space until you can hear it.

Listen to the silence.

Shut off the radio. Shut off the TV. Tell everyone to “shhh.”

Then, listen to the silence. 

As you cook today, cut the onion in silence. Pick up the onion, touch it, smell it, taste it.

Fill up the space around you with the silence of the food.

Your food already knows how to hold silence sacred. (Learn from it.)

As you drive today, turn off the radio.

Listen to the roar of your engine, the soft patter of wheel on road, the small squeak of the brakes.

Fill up the space around you with the silence of the road.

The road already knows how to hold silence sacred. (Learn from it.)

As you work today, hear the people in the office talk, hear the phones ring, hear the copy machine shuffle papers, and then pay attention to the space in between.

Hear the space in between the words, the sounds, and all the rustling.

Realize that silence is all around you.

As you write, or as you follow your passion today, quiet your inner fire for a moment.

Ask yourself if so much focus on your passion has made you feverish. If so, then…

Stop.

Then, feel the silence as it moves through your body, and overwhelms the heart.

Hear the space between your organs, the space between your arteries, the space between your cells, the space between your very atoms.

Listen to the silence.

Realize that there’s so much noise in the world…

….so much stimulation overwhelming the senses…

…that the only thing that can cure us now…

…and keep us sane…

…is silence.

These days there is so much calling for our attention, minute-by-minute, that we need to remind ourselves, every day, to take a moment to be silent.

Don’t understand? Don’t try to understand.

Just be silent.

Realize that the part of you that is desperately trying to create some grand result out of listening to the silence is still the part of you that is the frantic, overwhelmed, and overstimulated.

The cure for her?

More silence.

More and more silence.

Infinite silence.

Silence.

Simplicity.

Doing nothing.

These are the three cures for an overwhelmed, overstressed, overworked, and overstimulated world.

Don’t believe they work?

Okay.

But if you try looking for a more complicated answer, you may find the task a bit overwhelming.

much       ,

Ollin

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

27 comments on “Feeling Overwhelmed and Overstimulated? Here’s The Cure.

  1. Christina Kit. says:

    I love this! It’s a wonderful poem (I don’t know if you intended it to be a poem, but that’s how I perceived it;)

    And such true words!

    Thanks so much:)

  2. Chrissy says:

    Shutting down technology is my trick!

  3. Arisa says:

    I can totally agree with this. I love the silence around me. Which is why I love living in a smaller city, that’s pretty much calm all around. And I love love love that my living room looks out to the sheep and cows and endless grassfields.
    Silence and doing nothing definitely help me with being overwhelmed and all that.

  4. Anne Kemp says:

    Ohhhh I needed that today🙂 Thanks for this wonderful post. Reminded me to sit thia AM and just listen….

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Anne

  5. loishudson says:

    This is poetic, Ollin. Great suggestions too.

  6. […] Feeling Overwhelmed and Overstimulated? Here’s The Cure. (ollinmorales.wordpress.com) […]

  7. I take a 24 hour ‘unplugged’ day each week so I can hear the silence. Many times what I hear ( just as great as silence) are birds chirping, a far off train whistle, a lizard scurrying through the yard, water flowing over the tiered fountain.

  8. Ollin says:

    By the way, I’m just curious to hear from folks: anyone have TOO much silence in their lives? Didn’t think about that before, but just occurred to me. If you do, I’d be fascinated to hear from you

    • Alexander Bengtsson says:

      I had too much silence in my life. Yet it was not so much about things around, but about a conscious choice. Remaining silent. I grew up in a very noisy family. School and college were too much. I couldn’t stand all this yelling party animals. I dropped out.
      I became a furniture maker. I also am a sound engineer.
      Silence is priceless to me, since I have to keep ears wide open to… Sounds that really matter.
      Music, or the wood’s quirky noises really matter to me.

      I’m not sure if I contributed, but I had to write this. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to do so!

  9. Alexander Bengtsson says:

    Reblogged this on Commonplace.

  10. I’d love to take your excellent advice and sit in my favorite wooded area (up north). The sounds we might have missed, the sights we nearly didn’t get to see … just by remaining silent. I spent 20 minutes watching a Great Blue Heron stand, stock-still in the water, and patiently wait for dinner. Wonderful. (unless you were dinner, of course)

  11. Reading this alone made me feel peaceful. Great!🙂

  12. Yvette Carol says:

    Ollin…nice job! I read it like a poem too…
    When you write pieces like this I realize you walk your talk. That’s a very good thing. There is nothing more challenging I feel, than risking shutting down all the noise. It makes us vulnerable. We have to then BE with ourselves right!
    The writing course I am on asked that we start our day, every day, with half an hour of relaxation exercises. No noise. No technology. No distractions. Woa!! I freaked out at first, even though I’ve meditated for years. I still could not imagine in a million years how I was going to carve a whole half an hour out of my frenetic day for this. But I got over myself. And it’s the best thing I ever did. I think of it now, as ‘going back to zero’ every day. It’s simply amazing how much stress we live with otherwise.
    The silence is liberating!
    Yvette Carol

    • Ollin says:

      “There is nothing more challenging I feel, than risking shutting down all the noise. It makes us vulnerable. We have to then BE with ourselves right!”

      I guess noise can be sense of comfort for us after awhile. But like you said, silence can free us!

  13. cynthiamorris says:

    LOVE it!

Comments are closed.