Please: Give Us Something That Matters

Give us something that matters.

That lights us up, picks us up.

Give us something that matters.

That makes us think, makes us laugh, makes us tear up (you know, in a good way).

Give us something that matters.

Something that informs, delights, inspires, motivates.

Give us something that matters.

Something that gives us peace, that gives us perspective, that makes us fall in love.

Give us something that matters.

Something that entertains, razzle dazzles, captivates, and creates a sense of awe and wonder.

Give us something that matters.

Something we’ve never seen before, heard before, The Greatest Show On Earth.

Give us something that would hang on a dying man’s breath.

Give us something to carry with us as we wait in line at the emergency room, or after we get the bill in the mail, or after we put gas in our car and look at the receipt—give us something that’ll ease the stress and dissolve the tension.

Give us something that’ll heal the wound after the coffin is lowered, after the fighting is futile, after the love is lost, and after the wrong is not made right.

Give us hope. Give us hope. Give us hope.

Give us something that reminds us of why we love humanity.

Give us something that reminds us of why we love the earth.

Give us something that reminds us why we love you.

Be you. (That’s something that matters.) Give us you. Honest you. Not pretend “you.”

Give us something that matters.

Don’t waste our time. Give us something that shows us that you know our time is precious. Give us something that matters because you respect us.

Give us something that doesn’t leave us feeling devoid of nourishment.

Give us something truthful. Give us something wise. Give us something helpful, at least.

Give. Us. Something. That. Matters.

Please: don’t waste our time.

If you can’t give us anything that matters, don’t give us anything at all.

Please: if you’re going to write, write something that matters.

We have enough wasteful words in this world. We don’t need anymore.

Give us something that matters.

much love,

Ollin

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

20 comments on “Please: Give Us Something That Matters

  1. Christina Kit. says:

    I absolutely love this.

    It’s so meaningful but also simple at the same time, which is exactly what great writing is.

    Thanks Ollin:)

  2. I found this inspiring. Giving something in my writing that I appreciate receiving in other people’s books. A book that moves and informs and lifts and makes you think is a gift from someone you don’t know but who has worked their soul for you!

  3. thewordweaver1 says:

    Thank you for writing what matters. Two lines I especially treasured in this piece:
    Give us something that would hang on a dying man’s breath
    and
    Be you. (That’s something that matters.) Give us you. Honest you. Not pretend “you.”

  4. publicationcoach says:

    Great post! So many blogs just ramble on and on. I agree. We all want something that matters. Really mattters.

  5. Chihuahua0 says:

    I almost glazed over this, but I think I want to share this! We do want to write (or create) something that matters.

  6. Thanks for being consistently honest, informative and entertaining. I strive to be the best me I can be. Not sure I always succeed, but I’m aiming for what you wrote about.

  7. Yvette Carol says:

    Hey Ollin, I’m with you on this. And I think that’s why I constantly strive to learn more about ‘how to write’ so that I can get better and better, so that my voice can be as honest and uncluttered as I can get it to be. Not bogged down on what I think others want me to do or say either, but to release myself from that prison. I aspire to write what it is I came here to say without worrying how it shall be received! It’s really confining to constantly try to be what others want you to be, and yet, it is really challenging to become more real and honest. I am a work in progress🙂
    Yvette Carol

    • Ollin says:

      We are all a work in progress. Do you know about my Man In Progress series? Haha, yeah, I completely understand.

    • crichardwriter says:

      Yvette, this was beautifully expressed – I couldn’t have said it better myself. Ollin, I loved this post. It was simple and to the point – I am not big on long, rambling posts. It also provides a great reminder for each of us to ponder before we hit the “publish” button or show others our work.

  8. crichardwriter says:

    Thank you for this post. It provides a brilliant reminder for all writers to consider what we are writing, and to scrutinize it before we hit “publish” or show our work to others. It reminds us to ask “Did I tell the truth?” “Did I write about what is truly important to me and addresses the universal concerns of other human beings?” I will be placing this post somewhere visible so I can refer back to it.

  9. I printing this out and taping right above my computer for inspiration! Love this post and your blog. Thanks, Ollin!

Comments are closed.