Don’t Worry. You’re Gonna Be Okay.

I know. You’re afraid.

But don’t worry. You’re gonna be okay.

Listen to me. I want you to remember all of your joys. Pay attention to all the good memories you have ever known. Pay attention to all the lovely and kind words that have ever been said to you. Collect all the smiles. Bring them close to you, and let these smiles warm you. Know that it is in your power to turn this dark moment into light.

I know. They were mean to you.

People can be mean. But just know, they are afraid, too. Very afraid. If they were braver, they would just admit that they were afraid, but instead, they would rather attack you and make you feel bad. Don’t pay them any mind, and stick to those who say sweet things to you.

I know. The world is big and scary.

But love is always with you. Remember love’s power, always, and remember that you can unleash its magic at a moment’s notice. Even though the world is a crowded, confusing, and scary place sometimes–with people who seem so cold on the surface–remember that love never leaves you, and this should give you great comfort.

I know. You don’t think you’ll succeed.

But what if I said success was already yours? What if waking up everyday to write that book, or string together that verse, or punch out that play, is an act of triumph all its own? What if there were awards for simpler, quieter, acts of courage? What if you can see the triumph hidden within all the small things you did today? What if you can get a prize for going out and having the courage to be creative–and be your true self? What if there was a reward for an act of bravery other than saving someone else’s life–what if there was a reward for saving your own? In fact, rewards for quiet, simple acts of creative bravery do exist and you can start giving them to yourself today.

I know. Nobody believes in you.

But really, the only thing you need is for you to believe in yourself. Once you believe in yourself, you can accomplish anything.

I know. Nobody understands you.

But that’s okay. Just trust yourself. If you trust yourself, then it doesn’t really matter if nobody understands you at the moment–it just matters that you follow what moves you the most right now. (Those who don’t understand will come around eventually.)

I know. You think that success will change you.

But success can only change you if you let it. You’ll always have control. You’ll always have a choice. Your life is yours and yours alone. If you are not true to yourself, YOU will know it. And in the end, we are our only judge. And we will create the punishment that fits any crime we believe we have committed against ourselves. Success won’t change you. Because you won’t let it.

I know. You think your success will change others.

If you are worried that success will change the way others treat you, simply remember those who were with you when you failed, when you didn’t have anything to your name, when you were broken and lower than a bottle in the gutter. These are the people to trust, these are the people who will not change. Keep them close and let them keep you grounded. You deserve success, so if others should change in a negative manner, let them. You keep going strong.

I know. You think that you are not worthy of executing the task.

But trust that something bigger than you is wiser than you and is guiding you every step of the way. Trust that life will provide the tools you need to execute the task at hand and will introduce you to the people you will need that will help you move closer and closer to your destiny. Trust the process of life as it unfolds uniquely for you, like a compass leading you to the shore.

I know. You think you are alone.

The way to overcome your loneliness is to speak up first, so that others, who experience what you experience, will have the courage to reply. They will hear your cry of help or pain, and they will recognize it as their own cry of help or pain–and they will be your echo as you lead a chorus of voices who feel the exact same way as you do. Loneliness in the end is only an illusion. It is a barrier we have pulled up between us all so we don’t see how frighteningly similar we really are. Speak up first, reach out second, and feel the warmth of others around you.

I know. You have your doubts.

But hold on to the certainties you have, and they will carry you past (and over) any doubts.

I know the world seems chaotic, and everything is changing.

But as the world changes know that you have the capacity to change with it, and in changing with it, you may find that the great transformation is happening directly to your benefit.

I know, in the midst of everything that plagues you and the world, you feel that your work is meaningless.

But when you think about it, you might find that even in the face of chaos, your writing is incredibly meaningful. Don’t give up, because the world needs your ability to create a new and better version of itself.

I know. These are some very hard times.

But even the worst of times must pass and give way to better onesJust have faith, and you might see that there is still some hope yet.

Don’t worry. You’re gonna be okay.

Better times are coming, and in the meantime:

We’ll make it through this together. I promise.

much love,

Ollin

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

24 comments on “Don’t Worry. You’re Gonna Be Okay.

  1. Larry says:

    Ollin… love this post. You are a blessing, and a really cool dude.

  2. Simon says:

    Ollin,

    This article is on the spot.

    Respect

  3. Christina says:

    Ollin, thanks for really reading my mind (or soul) today! I needed to see this (are you sure you’re not psychic??) because after spending a couple of hours with someone who made me feel hopeless, worthless and useless I was ready to hide in bed and let life just fly over me. This person. of course, enjoyed every minute of it – but like you said, maybe he was just afraid. Of himself? Maybe.

    I’m printing this post so I can keep re-reading it.

    Thanks for telling us all we’ll be okay:))

    • Ollin says:

      Those who are afraid sometimes want you to be afraid. Those who are down sometimes want you to be down. Some people never want to feel alone, especially in their misery. So if they see someone who is happy it is a threat to them. You might have shown them that maybe there was a way out of their misery but they did not want to see it. They did not want to exert the effort. So instead of trying to find a way out and reach your level, they made you feel bad, so that you would fall down to theirs.

      Sorry to hear that you encountered this kind of person. But we all do, no worries. Just keep going strong Christina.

      And no, I am not a psychic. I am a human. I’m also a writer, and for me, this is just me doing my job. I’m doing what I’m on this earth to do. I’m just a vessel, sending a message I’ve been asked to send.🙂

  4. Victoria says:

    Ollin: Thank you from the bottom of my heart. I am so glad I found your blog. love, Victoria

  5. I needed to read this. I’ve had a really bad week. THANK YOU Ollin.

  6. Thank you for reaching out to others with these beautiful words, Ollin. Your lullaby has many angles and I’m sure many of us will find one or two to which we can relate. Being human implies everyone needs this type of encouragement every once in a while.

    Keep writing & many blessings!

  7. Peg Crippen says:

    Thank you, I needed this today! Your blog is always a positive spot in my day. Keep up the great work!

  8. Ollin, You are a bright light shining through the darkness. Thank you.

  9. maansi says:

    Outstanding post! Thanks Ollie.

  10. […] Monday, you had some good things to say here in your blog about finding meaning in work during hard times. (I noticed in the post’s URL that you called […]

  11. […] doubtful? Don't worry you're going to be OK via Ollin Morales. A lullaby to soothe those bad […]

  12. Ollin, thank you for sharing such beautiful words. I know there are many people who don’t realize much of what you just said in the post above (or they don’t want to acknowledge it as you said). Sometimes I’m guilty of falling into that hole myself on the occasion because growing up-my life has been FAR from easy. Your words are very “Priest-like” in the way they are written and as a Priestess-I think that’s pretty cool. Thank you. People like you are very unique, special, definitely one of a kind, and at times-hard to find. I wish there were more positive people in the world to help counter the imbalance of much of the negative stuff in our world. However, the best way we can do this is by one person at a time, set an example, “be the change we want to see,” and sometimes a little bit of hope and prayer doesn’t hurt either. Thank you.

    • Ollin says:

      Thank you for all of your kind words. I agree with everything you said. We each need to work to balance all the negativity in the world.

Comments are closed.