The Most Powerful Learning Tool A Writer Could Ever Have

Editor’s Note: this is a guest post by Larry Brooks of Storyfix.

That’s a risky headline, for sure. But it’s defensible–even if you don’t agree–which means it belongs in the list of top ten writing learning tools any way you care to cut it.

There’s learning through study. It begins at square one and it’s always there no matter where we are on the writing road. You’re reading Ollin’s blog, so by definition you’re learning through study.

But that’s not it. Critical, non-negotiable, absolutely… but the learning gets better from there.

Then there’s learning by doing. Putting what you’ve read into play. Practicing, getting into the game. You can’t reach the destination without parking yourself in this realm. Doing is what it’s all about.

But that’s not it, either. Some writers study and practice and generate manuscripts for decades without ever coming close to reaching their dream.

For them, and for all of us, there’s something close to a magic pill to help us close that gap. For many, it’s the missing ingredient that elevates them to a new level.

There’s another realm of learning.  An “in-between” level.

In my view–and my experience–what I’m about to describe is the most powerful learning realm of all. You can’t start with it… you have to have wrapped your head around the basic fundamentals of storytelling to an extent that you know it when you see it.

Even better, you’ll know it’s missing or misused when you see that, too.

I’m not talking about recognizing if a story is good or not… any reader can make that particular call. No, I’m talking about why.

If you were in a car and it suddenly stalled out and started spewing smoke, would you know why? Would you even know where to look? Could you fix it?

A mechanic could. A mechanic knows it when they see it. They know why.

Most of the time, readers don’t know why something works or not. They just feel the consequences of it.

As writers, we need to turn ourselves into the mechanics of our craft.

An Analogy To Help Clarify My Point

I’m a closet pilot. I’ve read up on it. I took ground school when I was 15 (I borrowed my father’s Jeppesen self-guided certified ground school course and aced the final exam, all without setting foot in an airplane). I’ve even flown a few small airplanes while sitting next to a real pilot with trembling hands.

In the secret vault of my most guilty of conceits and self-deceptions, I believe I know how to fly. If a pilot suddenly blacked out and nobody else waved a license, I could step in and get the airplane safely on the ground.

That’s my fantasy and I’m stickin’ to it.

This is, analogously, the same as someone who has read a lot of novels over the years, has even taken a writing workshop or two, and in their secret heart of hearts believe they can write a novel that works. That they could do better.

To both the analogy and the reality… maybe.

But probably not. We already know it’s harder than it looks.

But Here’s The Middle Ground, Where It Actually Can Work

This is where the real learning happens, quicker and faster than anything you can get from a book or a workshop, or even as a result of your own efforts.

When I’m flying (in coach, not the cockpit), I know what’s behind every moment of the taxi, takeoff, cruise and descent. I know when and why the flaps go up and down. The gear. The power settings. The approach patterns.

It was all in the book. My head is wrapped around the fundamentals, the engineering, the execution.

When something departs from normal, I recognize it right away. Could I fix it?  Fly us through the approaching Haboob to safety?  Honestly? Of course not. But I guarantee you I know more about what’s gone wrong, and/or what the pilot must accomplish, than the guy on the aisle who’s suddenly crying like frightened child.

Writers who have graduated ground school–who truly understand the architectural fundamentals of story structure, the rhythm of character arc, thematic and sub-textual power, the nuance of voice–are empowered to recognized it when they see it. And learn from it.

Readers aren’t.

The opportunity to read the unpublished, unfinished, unvetted work of other writers isn’t easy to arrange. 

It’s not in bookstores… those stories have been vetted and polished by professionals. You’ll be able to see what works, which is a very good thing, but that’s only half of the potential upside.

But being able to see what’s broken–and why–is even better. That’s where the gold is.

The more you know about story architecture, the more valuable this experience becomes. Because every time you see it done right, done brilliantly, you learn. And every time you see it executed at a less than stellar level, you not only notice, you’ll understand why the story isn’t working.

And that, fellow writers, is the golden goose, the steroid injection, of learning how to write killer novels and screenplays.

Larry Brooks is the author of “Story Engineering: Mastering the Six Core Competencies of Successful Writing,” from Writers Digest Books. He also runs Storyfix.com, where he’s offering a new Peer Review Page where authors can submit their work (up to 5000 words) and other writers can offer their feedback.

What other tools do you think are essential to becoming a great storyteller? Please share your comments with us in the comments below!

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

17 comments on “The Most Powerful Learning Tool A Writer Could Ever Have

  1. Ollin says:

    Lyrical, beautiful. As always, Larry, great post.

    Oh, readers, if you want to really master the “why” as Larry suggests here, you should definitely read his book: Story Engineering. A must-read book for writers.

  2. […] Check out my guest post over at Ollin Morales’ Courage 2 Create. […]

  3. Jess Witkins says:

    Excited to see Larry guest posting today! Great analogy on why studying craft and applying it to your work and others you assist in critique is such an important aspect of a writer’s life. And if we are able to do this, we can save ourselves time in the writing process or know why something needs work. Very clear and helpful.

    Thanks for hosting Ollin! Keep it coming!

  4. A great post here – thanks. I am currently reading an unpublished manuscript for a friend and all the positive bells and whistles are going off as I do. It is a privilege.

  5. loishudson says:

    I always learn something from Larry’s posts – and today I learned of a new blog I want to follow.
    Thanks, Ollin. Looking forward to more from you.

  6. Very good piece. Would have followed if you had a follower widget. Rachael Harrie’s blog explains how to do add the blogger widget in wordpress, or you could add the facebook blog follower tool. I’m at the query stage now, putting it off until I get enough followers that agents won’t just laugh their heads off when they see my blog. http://sherahart.blogspot.com I have a chocolate contest for followers,but Rachael’s campaign is doing me a lot more good.

  7. […] Larry Brooks guest posts at Ollin Morales’ blog, Courage 2 Create, about The Most Powerful Learning Tool a Writer Could Ever Have. […]

  8. Enjoyed this post immensely. After writing three books and taking classes and studying craft I now cannot read any book without using my editorial eye. It’s good in one way and yet, I can’t enjoy books as I used to any more. If I don’t like a book nowadays I usually have solid reasons for the “why” behind why it isn’t working for me. Maybe that makes me enjoy the books I CAN finish better than before. But I’ve put down more books in the last two years after the first few pages than in my entire life of reading!
    Patti

  9. Awesome guest post!!! Larry Brooks’ Story Engineering is what convinced me to go from pantser to plotter. I’m still working on gaining confidence in my ability to execute the 6 core competencies. I think I can see what works and doesn’t in other novels. And I think I can apply that to my own work.

  10. Tommy says:

    Larry says:
    The more you know about story architecture, the more valuable this experience becomes. Because every time you see it done right, done brilliantly, you learn. And every time you see it executed at a less than stellar level, you not only notice, you’ll understand why the story isn’t working.

    And that, fellow writers, is the golden goose, the steroid injection, of learning how to write killer novels and screenplays.

    (And is that no joke!) Great post!

Comments are closed.