5 Important Lessons You Need To Relearn

Well, folks, I’ve hit another life snag. I guess it was bound to happen again, right?

I’ve done my best, but life is just doing a much better job at getting in the way of my writing these days than ever. I’ll do my best to power through, but I thought that in the meantime we could reflect on some of the lessons I learned in the past, when I hit a life snag before. Maybe by reviewing them we can both be illuminated.

As I re-read some of these old posts, I wondered if maybe the most important lessons aren’t meant to be learned only once, but over and over again. Maybe it’s because the important lessons have to cut deeper into you as time goes on, like waves making a dent in the sand every time they slice the shore.

5. Allow Yourself To Suck

First Learned June 2, 2010: Allowing Myself to Suck

When I first shared this lesson, I was mostly talking about the writing process. I was talking about how all writers must allow themselves to be terrible in order to eventually reach some form of excellence. These days, I am seeing how this lesson also applies to life in very profound ways. Sometimes we have to wade through all those years were we might look like a loser or our lives might appear less-than-thrilling to others while we sacrifice to reach our dreams. In a sense, we have to let our lives suck before we can reach a point where we can say our lives are excellent.

Allowing yourself to be terrible, whether it is in writing or in life, is the hardest thing that you can ever allow yourself to do, and it goes against what everybody would have you do. Make mistakes? Allow yourself to look bad? Go where no else has gone before and risk coming out looking like a total douche bag? Be willing to share or face your most unpretty, unfinished, unpolished self and be okay with that?

Did I say this lesson was easy the first time around? I was wrong to imply that. It’s one of the hardest lessons you’ll ever have to learn–or relearn. 

4. Don’t Judge Yourself By External Indicators

First Learned March 12, 2010: Failure

When I didn’t get into an MFA Creative Writing program 2 years ago, I was really down on myself, but it was that big “failure” that lead me to a fantastic and incredibly fulfilling journey with this blog. (If I had gotten into an MFA program there would be no C2C. Period.) I also wouldn’t have learned one of the most important life lessons I’ve ever come across: that you cannot judge yourself by outside indicators. Whether it’s a plaque or a reward or a degree or an accolade, or even something negative like a nasty comment or some hate mail, you simply cannot value your worth according to anything that is outside of you. This is because outside factors are constantly changing, people’s opinions and interests are constantly changing–so one day you may look great, and then the next day you may look like trash. You attach yourself to what others think of you and you will certainly be on a crazy roller coaster ride all your life–not to mention you’ll be stressed out of your mind.

This lesson is so much more important today for writers than it has ever been. I always smile inside when people get all panicked about the publishing market changing, or bookstores closing. Are things changing? Of course they are. They will always be changing. You can count on that. So if you attach who your identity, your worth, or your value to the market or to traditional bookstores, of course you’re going to drive yourself up the wall every time you see another huge change in one of these traditional structures.

Come on. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to predict that the way we write, sell, and read books was bound to change someday. So, why so shocked?

Instead of freaking out, try detaching your sense of worth and value from all those external indicators.

3. Giving Up Is A Choice

First Learned February 28, 2010: Giving Up The Most

Not only is giving up a choice, but I’m also learning that the “idea” of giving up is also a deterrent to progress. When you’re going after a dream, there are no real markers or measurements as to when you have “failed” in pursuing that dream. In fact, no one else but you gets to decide when the time is over for you to stop pursuing your dream. I’ll give you an example:

My mother always loved dancing and her dream was to become a popular dancer someday. She ended up having kids at a young age and sacrificed her time to raise us well. She did a fantastic job, but when her children grew up, my mom feared her life was “over.” She feared that it was time to became an old grandma sitting in front of the TV watching soap operas and knitting Christmas sweaters. But then, one day, she decided to sign up for some dance classes. After only a few months, she started to perform in front of big audiences and she felt alive and fulfilled again. Today, she feels like she’s living her dream and she can’t believe it.

All it required for my mom to pursue her dream was to shift the way she saw things.

You see?

It is we who decide when our dreams are over–and it is never too late to keep going.

2. When Challenges Increase, Simply Increase Your Coping Strategies

First Learned June 20, 2010: Persistence

Through trial and error I came across an important life lesson that psychologists have known for years: whenever life’s challenges increase in intensity, you must increase the amount of tools you use to cope with these challenges.

Whether it’s emotional pain, or a spiritual crisis, or even financial troubles, the best way to move through the problem is always to find more and more ways to cope. Unfortunately, we are not automatically born with everything we need to confront adversity. We have an amazing physical body that does do a lot of amazing things for us–a brain that thinks on its own, a heart that pumps without us having to tell it, and eyes that blink automatically.

But life is still… hard.

And to paraphrase that song from the TV show Scrubs:  you’re no superman.

However, although you are not a superman, you can still acquire superhuman tools. When the stakes start to get high, go on a mad search for new books or teachers that will give you the superhuman tools to help you overcome your super challenging life. Ask friends and family for advice, maybe they know someone who can help. Remember to address all parts of you, too: your mind, your body, your spirit, your heart, your community, and your relationships.

Once you acquire all those new tools, turn them all up on full blast until your challenges are forced to run away scared.

(And if your best still isn’t good enough, then maybe enduring the challenge is a lesson in itself.)

1. Every “Down” Is Really An “Up”

First Learned August 9, 2010: How I Learned to Stop Worrying And Love The Process

When I first learned this lesson I was a bit naive to imply that I could ever “stop worrying.” Of course I can’t stop worrying, no one will ever stop worrying. Especially not about the process of life, which often times unfolds in incredibly mysterious, somewhat erratic, and often confounding ways.

Whether it’s the process of writing, or the process of life, I realized that even though we are given proof that every one of our “downs” later ends up being an “up,” we still will doubt whether our current “down” will ever yield itself to an “up” one day.

It’s true that every thing we perceive as a negative moment ends up being a positive later on, but there is another layer to this lesson:  it is only when we are “up” that we can trust the process to unfold for our benefit.

When we are “down,” however, it is very had to convince us of this universal truth. Whether we are suffering from writer’s block, or whether life’s got us in another choke hold, we’ll feel certain that our current difficulty will last forever.

Until, of course… it doesn’t.

So we end up having to learn this particular lesson over and over again until we get it through our thick, stubborn head that no important lesson can be fully understood on the first try.

No, eventually, every important lesson needs to be relearned, and relearned, and relearned, and… relearned.

So wish me luck as I register for this class one more time. If you’re signing up, too, let me know.

Maybe we can compare notes.

much love,

Ollin

What lessons do you find yourself relearning? Please compare your notes with us in the comments below.

Please share this post with your friends by using the buttons below.

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

15 comments on “5 Important Lessons You Need To Relearn

  1. Dear Ollin,

    PHEW, you really do put it out there in a way anyone can relate! All of your lessons resonate with me but the one I love the most is the story about your Mom living out her dancing dreams. It reminds me of the quote by Nietzscme,”You must have chaos within you to give birth to a dancing star.” Your Mom is a shining example to us all to never give up on our dreams. When I undergoing cancer treatment, I dreamed of being healthy again. I wrote down exactly what I wanted- to dance at my niece’s wedding hair, to visit friends in Missouri and Wisconsin, to help my husband in the garden,etc. I even drew sketches of the outfits I would wear. And every single dream came true. You are so right, it is our choice to hang on to our dreams and believe with all our hearts they will come true.
    Thank you for a very inspirational post and a reminder of how important it is to share our hopes and dreams. Dance on!

    • Ollin says:

      What an inspiring story Kathleen. You made me tear up a bit. That’s a first for a comment on the C2C.

      What a moving story, thank you so much for sharing and I am so happy that all of your dreams came true. I hope all your new dreams come true as well. Good luck! And much love to you and your family.

  2. Maggie says:

    I have to keep reminding myself of number 4 all the time. It doesn’t matter what others think of you and your work – it’s only your own opinion that matters.

    Thank you for this post.

  3. karenselliott says:

    I don’t know if you’ve done this before, but I noticed it this time … you start at 5 and end at 1. That’s sort of cool. I also like the part about allowing myself to suck. I do suck some days. And some days, I suck more than other days. But I always start with a fresh to-do list every day. And every day, I look at what I didn’t or couldn’t accomplish the day before or two days before and write it on my calendar. Yes, I write my calendar, with a pen … I’m old – it’s what I’m used to.

    • Ollin says:

      Haha, yeah. I try to go backwards so that there’s a build up. I don’t do it often, but it felt like this post needed to have that kind of progression.

      Yeah, sucking’s hard. But that’s okay. I think what’s better than being perfect is being productive in my opinion. Trying to be perfect is too stressful.

  4. […] Ten Blogger and writer, Ollin Morales shared  5  important lessons he keeps relearning on his Courage 2 Create blog about enduring […]

  5. Great post, Ollin.

    I think so many writers have trouble with #4.

    You need an internal compass, an inner voice that says, “You’re a talented writer, and you have something unique to contribute” to get you through all the query letters nobody answers and the resumes no one calls you about. Build your positive self-talk, because without that inner cheerleader, you’re going to be crushed and fade away.

    • Ollin says:

      Thanks Carol! It’s an honor to have you over here.

      That’s a great suggestion Carol. I’m working on my inner cheerleader right now. Trying to make him more confident and louder than my inner saboteur.

      Once I get a great handle on my inner cheerleader I’m hoping to write a post about it.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us!

  6. You are so wise, Ollin. Thank you for these wonderful, simple, life changing reminders🙂

  7. […] week, I talked about how sometimes the most important lessons need to be relearned. This week, I want to talk about how some lessons are only useful for a brief time. Although these […]

  8. […] I’m making up for it with a hilarious bonus video. So I say we’re even.Here we go:5 Things You Need to Relearn by Ollin Morales on Courage2Create. If you’re a would-be author and haven’t discovered […]

  9. I like #1, that “every down is an up.” It’s so hard to see when we are down, but with tenacity, we learn as we cope and move through the down times. I’m looking forward to the “up.” It’s more fun looking back than traveling toward.

Comments are closed.