My Biggest Fan: The Role of A Partner in A Writer’s Life

Editor’s Note: this is a guest post by Keshav of Chronicles of Narlia.

I’ve been actively writing for a little more than a year and it all started when I fell in love.

My writing, which had been dormant for more than a year, suddenly found inspiration. Once again, I found myself writing about my life, my beliefs, philosophy and even poetry. Now my blog and my writing have come a long way.

But this post is not about me or my writing. It’s about her–my biggest fan.

Many of you are aspiring writers, established authors, bloggers, or if you are like me–just another person trying to find a dream. Whoever you are and whatever you wish to create, know that you are never alone. There is always one beautiful soul who completely believes in us and supports our art.

Are you thinking of him or her?

For me, she is the love of my life–Sushma.

I want to be a writer (Ollin insists I am one). But there is a huge mountain of doubt which tries to bury my confidence. And when I do post my writing, Sushma comes along with her kind words, brushing away my apprehensions as if they were delicate spider webs.

She loves every post I write. Bloggers understand that every single post can’t be a masterpiece, but Sushma refuses to think of any one of my posts as anything other than a brilliant work of art.

An artist is a lonely person. On the surface, he/she may go about creating with quiet confidence, but underneath the beauty of his/her art lies a storm of thoughts. Most days are stormy, but when there is a brief lull, the clouds break apart and out pours a creation.

It is hard being constantly battered by doubt from yourself or the world around us. We all need a steady lighthouse to guide us to the shore. Sushma has been my lighthouse, always piercing my darkness with her words of support.

She is my biggest fan.

10 Important Pushes

Here are 10 things that my “biggest fan” did to encourage me. Feel free to add your own experiences to this list.

  • She loves every one of my posts.
  • She always thinks my writing is very good.
  • When I insist that a post is too long, she says it’s just right for a certain topic/story.
  • She gently reminds me to stop procrastinating, because my readers are waiting for new posts.
  • She really listens.
  • She never makes a negative remark about my writing.
  • She encourages me to experiment with short stories, writing contests, and things which I’m afraid to say out loud.
  • She visits my blog almost every day looking for new posts.
  • She is proud of me.
  • She was very excited when I got my first offer as a guest blogger (this one).

With your biggest fan you can NEVER fail. They are an extra shoulder you can lean on to help you on the path of discovering your inner potential.

This post is dedicated to all the readers and supporters who are always there. Thank You.

– Keshav

Keshav R Narla is an adventure-seeker trying to tame his inner beast while he is working as a software professional. He records his life through random chronicles on his blog, Chronicles of Narlia.

Who is your biggest fan? How did they support you?

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

32 comments on “My Biggest Fan: The Role of A Partner in A Writer’s Life

  1. Ollin says:

    You’ve given me an idea of what to look out for in a future partner. You are right, Keshav the person we love needs to be our biggest fan. Artists need a lot of encouragement, after all.

    • I also admire an artist who believes in himself/herself and is steadfast in his dedication in-spite of being alone (single).

      Thanks for letting me share my story ollin.

  2. Erika says:

    So true! I’ve only recently learned how much a partner can truly motivate and inspire you. If someone isn’t supporting your dreams, then they’re not the right person for you. May we all be so lucky to have that #1 fan!

    • Thanks Erika.

      At the least, an Artist hopes that the partner doesn’t actively discourage.

      It makes a huge difference when a partner or close family actively encourages you. I’m sure you will have your #1 fan soon.

  3. Terrific post! Thank you, Keshav (and Ollin, for inviting!) I am personally convinced I ought to be trying to better support/push/encourage my other artist friends. It is so easy to believe an artist has it all together – though, truly, under almost every calm artist exterior is a storm! Thanks for the insights and reminders.
    Genevieve

    • Thanks Genevieve for taking the time to read through this.

      A simple comment goes a long way. I loved your comment and a gesture like that exposes me to more positive energy . Personally, I feel very insecure about my writing, I still believe I can’t compare to most of you. Sushma’s steady interest brings back my enthusiasm.

      This is one person where I always a success🙂

      p.s- Just checking your blog. I really like it (30 sec review)

  4. clarbojahn says:

    thanks for this post. It made me more grateful of my husband than I already am. He is a great supporter but will be honest when it counts., Clar

    • Than you are very lucky clar. Maybe you should write a tribute or a nice story about him. Sushma is so delighted when I put my “own” words appreciating her in a post or a poem, she is still too excited to add a comment here:-)

      Thanks for this nice comment.

  5. jannatwrites says:

    Hehehe….love the jeans comment, Nancy. Yeah, he can say what he wants about the writing, but jeans are OFF LIMITS!

  6. jannatwrites says:

    I’m glad you have support in your writing to get you through the process.

    My support comes from a group of friends. (My husband isn’t into reading/writing) With several people to turn to, as well as some people I’ve met in the blogging world, I don’t feel like I’m going it alone at all🙂

    • and I’m glad your friends are there for you. The world is really big and just when you though you were alone, along comes someone with a beautiful comment. But the end, only we can steer our ship through the storm.

      As I mentioned above, only 2-3 friends of mine even acknowledge that I’m writing, let alone appreciate me. Thanks ok writing is very alien to them. Thats why I really love sushma for her unflinching support. Rest of the support comes from comments like these. You are invaluable to my writing – THANKS!

  7. It’s always a delight when your partner supports you. When I first decided to start following my passion of this craft, I too was given the utmost support and genuine care more than I could ever ask. I am glad you have someone in your life who is as loving and always stands by your side, Keshav😉 Cherish the moments!

    -BrownEyed

    • Yes. I’m very fortunate to have her. In fact, she was the reason I actually revived my blog. When I post something, I can’t wait to let her about it and she can’t wait to tell me that she loved it:-)

      Thanks for sharing BrownEyed.

  8. Addy says:

    Great post K! And Kudos to Olly for bringing the closeted writer out into the limelight! It always feel great if you are supported by the one you care and who equally loves you back!!!

    Best Wishes to Keshav and Olly!
    Addy

    • Hey thanks Addy! Yeah Ollin is a great guy. I was delighted when he gave me the opportunity.

      Now you know what to look for in a partner. Believe me, for a writer that kind of support is invaluable. All the best Addy.

  9. LOL! I believe in being honest even about the jeans. Sushma allows me to be that honest. But she’s just too much in love. I would to love to see her get annoyed with that statement (after marriage I suppose).

    You are lucky to have your #1 fan also doubling up as an editor. Now you can rely on more accurate feedback. Like jennat, my partner is also not into reading/writing. But she is now making an effort to read more blogs, starting with mine. I have many friends/classmates/roommates who were never into reading or writing. They almost never even comment or send me a word of praise. I guess they are too surprised that I can even write.

  10. sushma says:

    Thanks for all the love K … i really enjoy the way you write,rhyme,express and put forth your feelings …🙂 love you and love the post🙂
    Olly thanks for sharing ….

    • Thanks for waking up the artist in me
      Thanks for making a man out this boy

      Thanks from all the writers & bloggers. We know you (our supporters) are awesome!

      143🙂

      • Ollin says:

        Aw, so you’re the lucky girl! On behalf of all us writers, thank you for supporting your boyfriend. As he says in this post, we really need it. Thanks!

        • sushma says:

          i feel so happy & glee🙂 … having people around us who can encourage us really matters but its stake is less when compared to self determination and confidence and i believe that keshav has enough potentials… and i feel so proud to be one among those who encourage him and be the one and only one loving partner … lucky me🙂

  11. Chloe says:

    A great post – thanks Keshav (and thanks Ollin for hosting guest bloggers)😀 xx

  12. dorcas says:

    Aww… lots of love in the air..🙂 Congrats K n S .

    My hubby is not a great reader. But yes. He’s always there for me when I need him.Today morn, I wrote something and I was not really sure about it. My darling hubby came to the rescue and gave me his opinion. Other times, he lets me explore the blogging world alone. And I try (mostly unsuccesfully) to leave him alone.🙂

    • Thanks Dorcas for your kind words.

      Don’t you love it when your partner gets involved. You need to give him space, if you want space to write🙂

      Keep the love going.

  13. Oliver says:

    What a lovely post! Id love my girlfriend to read my blog, but I can’t Bring myself to show her it. Not just yet anyways, as I think Im going to base quite alot of my writing and experiences around her!
    I’ve taken a look at your blog and after reading a couple of posts, I’ve subscribed already, I can’t wait to hear more from you!

    • Ollin says:

      Thanks Oliver!

      Looking forward to having you around!

    • Thanks oliver!

      Your partner will be completely flattered if you base your posts with experiences around her. You should show her the blog eventually. Meanwhile you could just copy and paste your ideas and send her a mail to get her reaction and then slowly introduce her to your actual blog.

      I loved your blog posts and you have the right energy for a 19 year old. Keep up the love and the ideas flowing.

      • Oliver says:

        Thanks Ollin!
        Keshav, I think I will introduce the blog to her eventually, I guess I’m just afraid of her reaction, even though I know deep down that she will also be my number one supporter, just like sushma is for you. I might take your idea of emailing her my ideas first just to see her reaction, I suppose it sort of breaks it in as well!
        Thank you for the kind compliments, I appreciated the comments on the posts as well. The reason I thought of the idea was because we have been dating for almost a year now and I wanted to do something special. (my idea is to go up in the air, ballooning around the area we live in the uk. What do you think?) I decided that It might be a nice idea to share my ideas with other people, maybe rekindling some romance into old marriages or just giving young couples advice.
        Either way, I hope she takes a shine to my blog as id love her to be my best fan too.

Comments are closed.