Best Moments in Courage (2010)

It’s been a big year for me. I finished the first draft of my novel. I ran my first 5k. I developed a meditation routine and practiced healthier mental and emotional habits. I traveled to Hawaii, which was always a dream of mine. I created my first blog that is now a finalist for The Top 10 Blogs for Writers Contest! Most importantly, for the first time ever, I now have a supportive community of fellow writers. Your warmth and love has helped me so much throughout this year, you have no idea. Thank you again.

Unfortunately, the year is nearly done. But the good news is that it’s time to round up the best of Courage 2 Create in 2010. Enjoy.

much love,

Ollin

BEST MOMENTS IN COURAGE (2010)

Reader’s Picks

(The following are the Most Viewed & Most Commented posts in 2010)

5 Books You MUST Read Before You Die (You guys sure do love your books.)

Conversations With Imaginary People (In My Head) (Talking about the process of creating characters for a novel sure makes me sound crazy. But you loved my crazy, didn’t you?)

Letter to My “Enemy” (Best off-topic post. But it needed to be said, and you agreed.)

How to Get Yourself Off Your Lazy Butt and Start Writing Already (I guess you all just needed a little nudge to get yourself moving.)

How to Finish Your Best Writing Day Ever (Best. Post. Ever.)

How to Stop Yourself From Ditching Your Novel At Very The Last Minute (Most Tweeted.)

Paracosm (If the movie Inception was a blog post, this would be it.)

The 4 Essential Elements of A Writing Schedule That Works For You (And it worked. For you.)

Motivation! (But then again, you gained 5 pounds from all the red velvet cupcakes you rewarded yourself with.)

The Secret to Staying Loyal to Your Writing Schedule (Somehow I managed to turn writing into a religion. Go figure.)

Ollin’s Picks

(Some great stuff you might have missed.)


Risk. (My very first post. It even felt like a risk to write it. Told you everything you needed to know about how I came to start writing my novel and this blog.)

Failure. (I went through a lot of pain to learn the lessons in this post. I hope it taught you how to confront failure head on.)

How to Write Effective Dialogue (Tried and true advice on how to create excellent dialogue and develop realistic characters. Priceless knowledge gained from my years and years of studying acting.)

The Man of Small Things (Turns out writing a novel helps you appreciate the “mini” things in life.)

Persistence. (Developing a strong offensive against life’s challenges was an important lesson for me. Plus, that toilet metaphor is still one my all-time fav’s.)

My name is Ollin, and I’m a Writer (This post is about getting over your fear about telling people you are a writer. Turns out nobody cares either way.)

How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love The Process (Who knew writer’s block was a good thing? You didn’t. Until this post.)

How to Start Your Best Writing Day Ever (Trying the tips I share in this post on me first was the most fun I ever had preparing for a blog post.)

The Creator of Courage (My guest post on how nature can inspire your creativity.)

The Story of How An Unfit Man, Allergic to Any Kind of Physical Activity, Fell In Love With Running and Became A Better Writer in The Process (Running my first 5k was a HUGE step for me, and the experience was surprisingly helpful to my writing.)

Most Popular Guest Posts

I’m Sorry, What Do You Do, Again?” by BrownEyed

Applying to Artist Residencies” by Jennifer Chen

How to Annoy A Rookie Writer” by Lua Fowles

Are any of your favorites missing from the lists above? Let us know in the comments below.

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

17 comments on “Best Moments in Courage (2010)

  1. Good luck with the contest!
    Emily

  2. Way to go on an exciting year Ollin! What a year it has been for you, thank you for all of the inspiration and encouragement.
    Rock On!

  3. Linda says:

    I love this little re-cap. I actually missed a few! Who, me?🙂 I’ll have to go through and read those tonight. Thank you for staying so committed to your blog and for inspiring so many to have the courage to create!!

  4. Lots of great posts, Ollin! I had fun going through the list, and reading the ones you wrote before I started blogging. Looking forward to reading more from you in 2011. All best~

  5. jannatwrites says:

    You’ve had a big year…can’t wait to see what you do in 2011!

  6. M. Howalt says:

    Good luck with the contest!🙂
    I’m relatively new to your blog, so I think I’ll take the opportunity to look at some of your older posts by way of your links.

  7. Amala says:

    Your blog is one of my favourites, so I hope you win the contest! Good luck!

    Where do I find the contest by the way? I’d love to see the other finalists.

  8. Congratulations Ol! You’re one of the winners!!!

    -BrownEyed🙂

Comments are closed.