Going The Distance

Guess where I’m at in my novel?

I just finished Ch. 14, which means I am one chapter away from my novel’s CLIMAX!  Yay!

So, to recap for those of you who have not been with me since the beginning:

I began in late February writing the first draft of my novel and it’s been almost 9 months. I have committed to finishing my 1st Draft by January 1st 2011. This is the 1st step towards my overall Goal: Getting My Novel Published.

In 9 months I have been able to get through 2/3rds of my 1st draft. There are 20 chapters in total (19 Chapters including a Preface) I have completed 14 of these chapters and I have only 5 more to go. At the end of the next chapter that I will be working on (Ch. 15) is where the climax will begin.  After Ch. 16, The Climax, I will start to get working on the Denouement, then the final chapter.  The final chapter, I anticipate, will take me much longer than the other chapters. (Beginning and end chapters are torture. For instance, my first chapter took about 3 months to complete.) I am hoping I can finish my final chapter in the whole month of December, which is why I am rushing to get through the Climax by the end of November.

Ok. What else?

There have been massive road blocks. There have been setbacks. There have been fights and fits. Then there have been times when things surged ahead, very easily, when I was able to move forward faster than I thought. Finally, there were moments of reconciliation and times of pure joy. Then a time, quiet recently, where everything just became routine. Not good not bad, just normal. Every day kinda normal. That’s the ride so far.

When I began, it seemed so monumental to get this thing done within a year, and now that I am nearing the end of this draft I got to say: I’m feeling good. The novel is going well. I am happy with it. I wish I could share it with you right now, but I know it has to go through at least one more revision before I share it with anyone. Well, we’ll see.

I recently wrote a guest post for Jenny, and it was all about the Doubts I have as a writer. But I realized that I’ve never mentioned that I have so many wishes and hopes as well. These hopes and wishes are cherished treasures for every writer. We think of how our readers will smile at this part or that part. How they may cry at the end of this or that page. You are certain that they will fall in love with this or that character, because you love that character too, so how could they not?  There’s a thrill in you when you imagine them coming to the climax, wondering whether your heroine will make it. Will your reader be able to put it all down? You are sure they won’t. Will they grow a bit from what the story teaches? Yes, they must. Will they see themselves in these imaginary people? There is no doubt in your mind.

Well, now. Here we are. Two and a half months away from the finish line. Will I make my deadline? Will the month I allotted for the last chapter be enough? Will another block come out of nowhere and thwart my hard-earned progress? Will life “get in the way” again? Or will I forge ahead, and cross the finish line triumphantly?

(Uh, can you tell I’ve been working on nothing but Rising Action these past couple of weeks?)

I guess we’ll see. This is the part where it gets suspenseful, folks. I hope you’re ready. Set.

Pistol shot.

much antici…………….. pation,

Ollin

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

13 comments on “Going The Distance

  1. That was wonderful Ollin! (Oh, and by the way? Thanks for the Cake. Twice! I had actually forgotten about them.🙂 )
    It is so true. We have to focus to maintain our eye on the happy possibilities that lie ahead. We can’t not acknowledge the doubts, but as I write this, it occurs to me that we can make a choice to shift our thoughts to the dream if we want to!
    Write on!

    (One tiny piece of advice? Don’t worry so much about your deadline. It’s fantastic that it is working so well to keep you on track. I am full of admiration. But remember. No one is going to fire you if it takes you until January 15th. It isn’t a race. Enjoy yourself!)

    • Ollin says:

      I LOVE Cake. Very unique sound.

      Hehe, don’t worry. Making the deadline is just for fun, trust me i don’t feel any pressure to finish by that deadline, I just want to make it suspenseful for my readers. I will promise that I will enjoy myself. But I think part of the fun for me is seeing if I can make it to that finish line. But thanks for your thoughtful concerns.🙂 Wish me luck!

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Great to see the progress. If life “gets in the way,” live it, and then get back on schedule🙂 You’ve got a good shot at the January goal!

  3. Way to go man…

    Just around the same time you started your journey. I was imagining myself turning into a writer and so I revived my blog to get into the practice of this art.

    Next thing was to find some real, normal, writers who have done it or doing it. I was lucky to find you and Lisa.

    I was so excited when I was explaining this to my sweetheart – “hey here’s this guy who actually has a blog about writing his first novel. Maybe I can make friends with him and learn/get inspired about this art”

    I AM!

    When I start my first book, you will be the first person to come to my mind. Heck! You are always in my mind when I think about my first book.

    Thanks man. You are my hero!

    • Ollin says:

      Keshav, I am so flattered that you should find my journey inspiring! Well, I can’t wait until you start your first book so I can read it. Thanks for sticking with me!🙂

  4. aloysa says:

    Wow! This is so great! Stay determined and you will be suprised where it might take you.🙂

  5. Carol Denbow says:

    FYI, Blog Jog Day will be November 21 if you’re interested again. Last year was great! You can sign-up at http://blogjogday.blogspot.com

  6. Agatha82 says:

    Congrats Ollin. You’ll get to the finishing line, don’t worry. I’m happy to hear of your progress🙂

Comments are closed.