Things Can Run Smoothly

Sooooooooooo. It’s been a while since I’ve updated ya’ll on the novel. I just finished Ch. 8 and I’m moving on to Ch. 9.  As you can see if you check myOllin’s Progresspage, once I’m done with Ch. 9 that means I will be halfway done with my novel [UPDATE: You can check my progress on my About page now.] I know what you’re gonna yell after you give me the appropriate terrorist fist bump:

“Woohooo! Wohooooo! WOOOOOOHOOOOO!”

(Okay not too many wohoo’s party people, it’s only the first draft.)

But yes, I am still excited. It’s funny that I’m at this point and people are already asking me about whether its going to be a movie, or how I should have someone make it into a movie. Dude, you kidding me? You realize how long this ish is gonna take me to finish!? To get an idea of how long, let’s backtrack a bit here:

I started this blog back at the end February. I started the first draft of my novel at the same time. This means it took me (hold on, counting the months on my fingers here–sorry, I didn’t major in math folks… 4, 5, 6–6!) 6 months to get ALMOST half-way through a FIRST DRAFT of a 300 or so page novel.  That means it will take another six months to finish this FIRST draft, and another year to finish a complete second draft, and on and on. (Maybe, unless I win the lotto and won’t have to work, in which case I might actually give up my writing career completely and spend my life on a yacht drinking wine with P-Diddy, or Diddy, or Did, or D or whatever they call him these days.)  Not to mention that after I get a FINAL draft out there’s still the little issue of getting an agent to represent me and a publisher to publish my work. Which, I hear, takes like a MILLENNIUM to accomplish.

My point is this: They will have already started to systematically clone people way before my book becomes a movie.

I’m not being negative (I’m being sarcastic.) I’m being realistic. Novels take TIME. They also take your patience, so thank you for being patient. Thank you for being understanding. Thank you for being supportive. Thank you for choosing C2C for your writer rant/waxing philosophical needs. You may take the travel guide with you when you leave. It is complimentary.

(I am sooo random today. You love it.)

Now I know I made you all bummed out that my book is not going to go straight to Hollywood and feature Julia Robert’s as the bubbly lead character (by the way, here’s my movie review: Eat, Pray, Suck!), but don’t worry! The good news is that you will have the pleasure of following my writing journey on this blog for years to go come!  (Years! Dear Lord! Why the hell am I doing this again?)

Plus. Dude, you’re putting way too much pressure on me. Let me just be happy that I got past Ch. 8 today. It’s a huge accomplishment, trust me. If you have been following this blog you know.

It ain’t easy to move through a novel, but right now, what do you know? Things are going smoothly. (Wait… Did I just jinx it by telling you? DOH!) But hey, there are times when writing is super great and fantastic. There’s nothing wrong with that. I am a productive writer. I’m an artist whose actually making something, not saying he’s making something and then procrastinating, rolling himself up into a ball, hiding in the corner, and wallowing in my own self-loathing. (July seems so far away now. Good times, good times.)

So yeah, there are times when things can run smoothly. You move forward very easily through the writing process and work is so much FUN!  You think:

“Man I am sooo lucky! What better way to live my life than writing a good novel for people to one day enjoy… as a movie starring Julia Roberts.”

much eat, pray, love,

Ollin

(P.S. The book was way better.)

>>> Novel Update:  On Ch. 9

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

27 comments on “Things Can Run Smoothly

  1. Well yes you are all too random, Ollin. (But that doesn’t mean you should ever stop it–it is quite fun for your readers ;))

    And Woohoo to your first draft of semi-novel completion!!!

    And again, woohoo!!

    Congratulations! You are now officially a tower of inspiration for the ones yet to kickstart their books (think me)! Woohoo!

    Gosh. Happy for you.🙂 And loved this post.

    -BrownEyed

    Wait, Woohoo!

  2. You can do it, man! Congrats on finishing chapter 8! Well done! I’m ashamed of myself for not keeping up, but alas…. I’m easily distracted.

    Always good to hear you’re trucking along, dude. Don’t give up!

  3. Just yesterday I was talking about your goal of 5000 hits and your gift. I was just thinking, I just hit 5000 too (started in late January) . But as usual, I did not set any goals.

    Thanks for your writing. I’m glad I’m one of your readers.

    • Ollin says:

      You’re welcome Keshav. I guess I should have set a new goal. But to be honest, I think I’ve reached a comfortable space where I feel like I have enough readers where I don’t feel the need to focus so much on trying to get a bunch of views.

      Which is a good thing, now I can focus on the whole point of this blog in the first place: this novel.

      I’m glad you’re one of my readers, too!🙂

  4. Agatha82 says:

    Yay! You’ll get there. Just reading your enthusiastic post made me smile. I started my first draft in August 08 and finished in March 09 – sounds fast, huh? but noooooo, it was a hellish mess and it took me so long to sort out the mess that I did not end up with a proper novel until this past August 2010 and that’s TWO years after I started and I’m still not totally done, so yeah, it’s true it takes time.

    About agents, well you never know, it could take ages or it could be quick. One of the writers who spoke at this publishing conference I attended spoke about how she got signed by her SECOND agent she had sent a query to. Damn, it took her less than 2 months! Of course MOST of us won’t be that lucky, but hey, if it can happen to her, it can happen to you or me. I like living in a slightly delusional state just so I can cope better…maybe I need to do drugs ha😉

    • Ollin says:

      Wow. Second agent! Maybe there is hope! Well, yes, I think we must prepare for the worst but still, hope for the best. Yay, we can do it! Go us!🙂

  5. […] a month. Why? Because it is motivating. Well, I know of at least one awesome blogger who does this: Ollin speaks of his 5,000 visitor-hits recently […]

  6. Cities of the Mind says:

    Congrats! Here’s to chapter 9 going as smoothly as 8.

  7. junebugger says:

    You’re right. Writing DOES take time!!!!!!! People who say writing a book is easy just don’t know how mentally exhausting it is.

    I’m nearly done my first draft. At 73k within four months. BUUUUUUUUT. I’m the sort of writer who writes and rarely looks back. If I have something major to fix, I don’t fix it, just type out a note in a comment box. So while I’m quick at writing first drafts, I take forever to revise. Writing TRC took me a few months–revising it took me two years, lol

    • Ollin says:

      Yeah, maybe that’s why it has taken me a while. I’m an anal writer, and even with my first draft, I kind want it to be somewhat perfect. For me I sort of keep going over a ch until I’m sick of it, and then I say: “Well I guess I’m done with the first draft of this chapter!” lol.

      No seriously, I am sort of making sure the important structure is there, you know make the skeleton solid before I add all the meat and skin. So far, so good! The skeleton is coming out nicely.

  8. T.S. Bazelli says:

    Whoo hoo! Chapter 9🙂 All progress should be celebrated. Even if it’s just the first draft it’s still gold – can’t get to the a final draft without the first one! When (not if) you finally get to the stage where you’re looking for beta reviewers, I’d be happy to volunteer.

    Cheering you on,
    -Tessa

    • Ollin says:

      Very wise, T.S. You are right, I can’t get to the final stage unless I finish the first stage of writing. Thanks for your support!🙂

  9. aloysa says:

    Your post inspired me to go back to my desk and start writing again. Blogging takes all my time away from writing… Great post! Thank you for sharing.

  10. Barb says:

    Hi, Ollin
    even if I’m a fast writer (it takes me one month, two tops) to write my first draft of anything, I seem to be spending ages on rewrites. I’ve been working on Air since summer 2008, and the last round of beta-readers say I still need some twitching and adjusting until I’m ready to query. Sigh.
    But then I remaind myself I’ve been unpublished for so long, than one more year doesn’t change a thing. I keep writing, revising, rewriting. I hope to find the time to write something totally new for a change, but maybe not this year, I’ll use these 4 months left to edit and rewrite the five novels that I have completed.
    My serial story might end before the end of the year, so if you want to squeeze in your sci-fi story (I haven’t read it yet, I thought I’d comment your post before continuing the reading) for four weeks on Serial Central in a couple of months, you’re welcome to do it, to allow me the time to prepare the next one!😉
    Happy writing!
    Barb

    • Ollin says:

      Wow! That is fast!

      Yeah, I wouldn’t mind squeezing in my SciFi story, it would be a dramatic shift from you fantasy romance, lol, but if you think it would fit then I’m game.

      Let me know if you enjoyed it and when you’d like me to feature it.

      Thanks!🙂

      • Barb says:

        Just wait and see how my romance turns to high drama!😀 Soon I’ll be able to tell you how many episodes I have, and will let you know when you can be on!😉

  11. Lua says:

    A big YAY! for you Ollin and here’s to finishing chapter 9!🙂
    Writing does take time… A lot of time and it doesn’t help when people keep ask me “how is the novel, when can we get to read it, who’s going to play X in the movie?”… Relax everyone- I haven’t even finished my second draft yet and no agent is dying to represent me.

    (See, we need the PO series!)🙂

  12. Mckenzie says:

    I enjoyed Eat, Pray, Love the book, but I refuse to see the movie. Refuse.

  13. jannatwrites says:

    I linked to this post from BrownEyed’s blog. I haven’t visited for a while and I forgot how funny you are! I’ve bookmarked you so I can catch up🙂

    Congrats on your progress (blog and novel)! It took me two years to finish my first novel, but I didn’t have a time line set to finish it. My only goal was to finish. Before I died.

    P.S. Love the Roberto Benini reference…great!

  14. […] I now feel confident writing in most of these styles whenever I feel like it: I could write funny posts, spiritual posts, technical posts, or even a post about relationships–without missing a […]

Comments are closed.