Bad Critic, Bad!

My blogging friend Melissa at The Undeveloped Story just posted about an issue that a lot of us writers can relate to. The kind of person she writes about is a person we’ve all had to deal with. She refers to him as the “Critic Boy” but I’m going to group all of these types of people under one name: The Bad Critic. I’ve been meaning to write about this issue a while back, and Melissa’s post made me realize that now is the perfect time. So if you don’t mind Melissa, I’m going to take a cue from your blog and talk about the notorious, the ugly, the vicious, the downright EVIL, Bad Critic.

Notice I did not say that The Critic was evil. There are in fact really good critics, and in fact writers NEED good critics. These critics provide the right combination of constructive criticism and positive feedback we need to keep going and also to keep improving. In fact what I realized was that The Critic is actually very much a creator. I know, my fellow writers are snickering at me for trying to compare critics to artists, but stay with me.

Many critics have the power to make or break a career, even today. They are especially important with new and upcoming talent. It’s an incredible responsibility, and a very delicate one, and all critics should know, now that you are reading this, that your job is a very important one. Just like a writer, your job takes time, takes effort, takes careful consideration. Your job, like ours, is in the details, in the care, in the love of art in general. You have, like us, the general good of humanity in mind, at least you should. Because you can potentially be the gateway in which a new emerging artist can find his footing and one day become incredibly influential in their field. But it may come that this new artist begins and ends with you.

We writers know our responsibilities to our stories and to our work, we are the caretakers of our art, and it is up to us to keep them safe. Critics, on the other hand, have writers as their responsibility. As a critic it is your job to take care of us, to keep us safe, to nurture us, to keep us going, and if we aren’t performing at our best, push us to do better with detailed and level-headed criticism. We cannot grow from personal attacks and put downs. It’s just a fact. So if you are a critic and are not sure the line between BAD and GOOD, let me tell you. Here is what makes a Bad Critic:

Bad critics don’t do their homework: By this I mean, they don’t actual read what they are critiquing. They might skim, or get the general idea, they might even read ever sentence, but they haven’t really READ it. They haven’t sat down and analyzed and tried to imagine what the writer was trying to get at. They weren’t trying to get the big picture. They weren’t looking into the author’s background, or what brought that person to write it, or where this person was when they wrote it. They didn’t have the author’s age in mind, or at what level they are writing at (teacher’s know you have to teach each student at their own strengths and weaknesses and not compared to another student’s or to some other arbitrary standard.) A critic’s homework is important, if they don’t do their homework their comments won’t help anyone.

Bad critics make vague, general comments: “I didn’t like it.” “It was boring.” “It’s stupid.” “It’s too long.” “It sucks.” “I hate it.” “I don’t know, it just wasn’t my thing.” That is not criticism. It doesn’t help. It makes us feel bad, and worse, it makes us feel like our work isn’t even worth any detailed analysis or critique. If all you have is vague general comments then you need to go back and do your homework, Mr. Bad Critic.

Bad critics skip on positive feedback: So you can’t give detailed, constructive comments, ok. But are you telling me you like NOTHING about it? There is always something good about a piece, and if it is really bad then you are always allowed to say, “I’d like to see it again after you revise it one more time.” Otherwise, you have to say something good. Why? It goes back to your responsibility as a creator. You are responsible for nurturing us, you need to give us encouragement to keep going because we really need it. It’s hard out there for a pimp–I mean–an artist and some positive feedback and word of an encouragement could be a life vest on a rocky ocean. Don’t leave positive feedback out!

Bad critics confuse your work with theirs: “I don’t agree with this.” “This just never would happen.” “I like it when this kind of thing happens.” “You should change this, because I know better than you, and it is just not how you say it is.” Oh really? Well that is why I am writing it. Because I believe that IT IS how I say IT IS. This is the way I SEE things and that’s why it’s my novel, not yours. If you have a view you want to express then write your own novel, don’t hijack mine through your criticism. You’re looking for how my story needs improvement, not how you can make my story more like yours.

Bad critics make it personal: This is the absolute worse. This is going too far Mr. Bad Critic! You have gone past the realm of creator and now you have become The Destroyer. You are out to kill artists when you start making your critiques personal. “He/she is just no good.” “She’ll never make it anywhere.” “He never received the proper education that’s why.” “Your voice is not going to fit the mainstream.” “You are lazy.” “You’re not funny, witty, original…” “YOU ARE JUST NOT, NOT, NOT, NOT, THIS, THAT, THIS.” “YOU are what’s wrong with this work, PITY that YOU can’t change who YOU are.” At this point critic you have gone from human to monster. This kind of critique will only serve to obliterate an artist, not nurture them or at least help them improve or grow.

Bad critics make threats: Ok. Now you are just scary. Just because you don’t like something someone wrote does not mean that now you can suggest physical violence against said person. So its bad, then the best thing to do is just say nothing. Stop reading it. Read something else. Those personal attacks have now become too real for you, and now you think that the person on the other end of the work poses some real physical threat to you. Even if it’s some sardonic joke, that is very troubling and upsetting. At this point, Mr. Bad Critic you need some serious help. Please seek it, because the person you jokingly propose violence against you don’t even know. And that’s just makes you borderline crazy.

Ok. I think I covered everything. Now for the interactive part.

What would you add to the list of what makes a Bad Critic? How do you cope when you’ve heard comments from Mr. Bad?

much love,

Ollin

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

16 comments on “Bad Critic, Bad!

  1. unabridgedgirl says:

    Great list, Ollin, and I agree with all of them! BOO, to the Bad Critic! BOO!

    • Yeah. BOOO! Lol. Sorry this is totally a tangent. But your comment reminded me of a long going feud between me and my friends that “BOO!” is actually like the ghost “Boo!” mean to scare someone. And really it’s “BOOO!” that is meant to scorn someone, using more than two “o”‘s. Then of course there’s the added confusion of “Boo” as in “you’re my boo” or you’re my girl. Lol. Anyways, it doesn’t matter, but I laughed and I had to explain why.😉

  2. Melissa says:

    First off, I don’t mind at all, Ollin!🙂

    Everything you mentioned on the list my dear, sweet Critic Boy does. I think he gets kind of confused because I don’t think he reads current literature, but he is writing a book of his own. I haven’t read it though haha.

    You have a great list though. Those awful critics…(well, the ones who don’t give out constructive criticism anyways).🙂

    • Yeah, I meant to comment on your blog, but I thought, why not respond in a post? Your Critic Boy sounds like a really evil Bad Critic, I hope you keep staying away from him and show him wrong by becoming an awesome writer!🙂

  3. junebugger says:

    AWESOME post! I especially agree with the point about how bad critics mix your book with their book. That is SOOO true!!! Just because it doesn’t work for them doesn’t mean it won’t work for others. A good critic should understand how subjective literature is.

    • Yeah. I’ve had that one before. It was hard for me before to understand that this trait is part of a Bad Critic. I used to think they were right and I would change a big part of my work to suit what THEY were trying to say, and it took me a while to realize that they were trying to hijack my work for their own views! NOT COOL! Anyways, I’m more protective of my themes and views as a consequence. Stay away from my story Mr. Bad!

  4. Agatha82 says:

    Bad critics suck. They exist even before you get published. I’m sure you’ve all experienced them in one way or the other. Everything you speak of is true. They’re some nasty people out there, god knows how artists manage to get through, doesn’t surprise me that some, just don’t bother reading reviews.

  5. Lua says:

    “As a critic it is your job to take care of us, to keep us safe, to nurture us, to keep us going, and if we aren’t performing at our best, push us to do better with detailed and level-headed criticism. We cannot grow from personal attacks and put downs. It’s just a fact.”
    Ollin this post was just fantastic! This is so true, a great description of what a ‘good critic’ should be doing.
    And your list contains everything a Bad Critic does- from the ‘Nah, I just didn’t like it’ to the famous ‘ it’s because you’re a women/ too young/ inexperienced/ignorant’, you listed everything that Mr. Bad Critic does. He is impossible to reason with, he is lazy, stupid and narrow minded!

  6. T.S. Bazelli says:

    Great post! I know I always worry whenever I write a book review, especially when the book didn’t work for me. I don’t want to be a bad reviewer or destroy someone’s hopes.

    • Yeah, we all have to be careful when we critique someone else’s work. I always have to work on number 1, I forget that this is not something I’m doing for a research paper in college, this is potentially somone’s life’s work. So I really need to do my homework before I give my feedback.

  7. I used to listen to every crit and attempt to adjust my writing accordingly. Impossible! You can’t please everybody.

    Now I’m learning to differentiate between constructive criticism and unfounded, uneducated, biased, subjective criticism.

    Some crits don’t like a story or writing for no other reason than personal disinterest. This is useful information, if it’s supported by detail. If one critic dislikes something everyone else loves, I can assume the critter with the frown is simply reading outside his genre.

    (A Bad Critic has no idea he’s reading outside his genre so dispenses poor feedback based soley upon his own interest level.)

    A Good Critic bases his crits upon an objective rubric.

    – Corra

    The Victorian Heroine

    • Great additions to the list Cora! Yes some people need to be more respectful of books that are outside of their own genre, and they need to be objective! Thanks for your input!

  8. Great points Ollin! Critics are not necessarily bad, they just are if they don’t approach your work professionally, no matter what their opinion. I personally hate the general comments and blanket statements that have nothing whatsoever to do with the content of the story.

Comments are closed.