Focus.

I’ve been sick this past week. (Still recovering.) I haven’t been able to do anything. I managed to write a bit, but nothing that great. At first it was frustrating and I felt I was going to go crazy. I’m someone who always likes to be doing something. Makes me feel useful, active. But when you’re sick you feel horrible, yes, but you also feel useless. After a while I finally sat and decided to pay attention to the miracle that was happening inside of my very veins. Even though I was not doing anything, my body was hard at work. It was growing antibodies against a bacteria or virus so that very bacteria or virus could never get me again (unless it mutated.) My body was doing all of this, on its own, and all my body was asking of me was to drink, eat, sleep and do nothing. This whole process went on, without any effort on my part (actually with the least of effort on my part) and my body is now on the road to complete recovery.

Dorky? I don’t care. Towards the end of my sickness, I decided to sit back and enjoy it. Yup, enjoy it. There’s nothing else I could do, but change my perspective on it. Which brings me to this idea that was introduced to me not too long ago, that had to do with the things in life we chose to focus on. The idea goes that the things we focus on tend to multiply, while the things we chose not to focus on just fade away. I tried it out in the last couple of months and I am amazed to see the results.

The more I focused on my writing, the more I wrote. My novel grew into this blog, which grew into me writing a short story for this blog, which grew into me doing guest posts on other blogs, and on and on…

I’ve decided that I want to apply this to the rest of my life. Just like my flu, instead of focusing on the bad, I want to focus on the good, the great, on the miracle. Turn the black rock over and see a green bud underneath.

So here we go:

Focus. On my writing career and creating wealth and abundance out of this passion.

Focus. On establishing healthy, loving, long-term relationships.

Focus. On finding a place that truly feels like home.

Focus. On eating well, and taking care of my overall health.

Focus. On keeping my connection and respect for nature and the world around me.

Conversely, I no longer chose to focus on that which I don’t want to multiply in my life.

Out of focus.News, politics, world disasters.

Out of focus. Other people’s problems to which I have no control over and cannot help beside some warm words and a shoulder to cry on.

Out of focus. The threat of climate change. (Focus on. Reducing my own footprint first. I can’t guarantee people will listen to me, but I can guarantee that I can follow through with my promises.)

Out of focus. People’s negativity. Celebrities. They tend to come hand in hand for some reason.

Out of focus. Everything else that is completely out of my control or power.

I need to take my dreams seriously. I need to take my life seriously. I need to take the world around me more seriously–by no longer being so serious about it, if that makes any sense. It’s kind of like grammar.

I know, stay with me for a moment. I used to think grammar was a restriction. All these stupid rules, and for what? Just to sound rigid, mechanic, boring? Then when I began to teach English as a tutor, I began to learn that instead of restricting my students, grammar rules actually were freeing my students to express themselves more effectively. What I would tell my students is that grammar is actually put there so that more and more the reader can understand what YOU are trying to say.

Grammar is meant to empower you, not intimidate you. Every single rule, when it comes down to it, is about clarity and conciseness. Get to what YOU want to say with as little words as possible, to get US to fully  understand YOUR point.

What I’m trying to say is that life has its own “grammar rules,” and maybe I’m looking at life the wrong way. Maybe these “grammar rules” are NOT meant to restrict me, but meant to free me. Maybe I have to master the rules first, before I can start breaking them.

First of life’s “grammar rules:” what you focus on multiplies. From now on, I chose to focus on the good, the great, the miracle and not the bad.

What will you choose to focus on?

much love,

Ollin

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

10 comments on “Focus.

  1. junebugger says:

    I’ve been sick too….sick with boredom. And when I’m bored I can’t even find the enthusiasm to blog. But today I decided to be productive! And came first thing to your blog. So that should say something about how great this blog of yours is. It always has something so inspiring to be read. Like this one about focus. Life is so short (though we young ones think it’s very very long–but my mom says it zooms by.) Therefore we should filter our days so we don’t spend too much time on the things that are not important and FOCUS more on the things that ARE important. Thanks for giving me a nice little kick. I needed that. I need to stop wasting my time on uselesss things!!!

  2. unabridgedgirl says:

    Glad your body is starting to mend, and glad that you have new-found focus!🙂

  3. I love the different colors for the focus vs. not focus. I do hope you’re feeling better my friend. Writing when sick doesn’t really help because you’re not yourself and up to par.
    As far as my focusing goes … it’s quite a joke🙂

  4. Lua says:

    I’m really fascinated by how you can get this much positive outcome out of something as negative as sickness… I usually pretend I’m not sick with a runny nose and high fever and cracked voice, believing if I pretend it’s not there it’ll go away (and it usually doesn’t)🙂
    Great list on what to focus- but what I really liked was your list on things you decided not to focus on. The things we have no control over are a waste of our time & energy and I do tended to get focused on those things from time to time…
    My main focus in life? Becoming a published writer and getting my MA degree…🙂

    • That’s right I heard about that on your blog! Congratulations! Do you know where you will be going for you MA degree? That sounds like it will be wonderful. I remember feeling so at home in those writing workshops, and we were so supportive yet constructive with each other. It was a great space for nourishment as an artist. Good luck!🙂

      • Lua says:

        Thanks! I’m going to Kent I think🙂 I’m hoping for the exact same thing; a supportive yet constructive workshop, something I don’t have the chance to be a part of here in Istanbul…

    • That’s sounds great! I wish you all the best.

Comments are closed.