Change

“...[O]n the average, every seven years all the atoms in your body have come and gone, replaced by others from outside of us. This in itself is interesting to think about. What am I if little of the substance of my body is the same in any decade of my life?

– John Kabat-Zinn

If we look at change from a biological standpoint, we are literally a different person every seven years of our life! Our organism as a whole is renewed.

This thought is as freeing as it is slightly upsetting.

On one hand, it is freeing because it tells me that I can be the ever-changing me. On the other hand, it causes me to face the fact that I am at all times the ever-changing me. I am change. I am a process, never a product. So there is never a “me” that I can ever become, because “me” is not a destination, it is a constantly evolving process.

I remember after being a teenager thinking that I would never experience a fundamental change as big as puberty, and then being surprised to find that college had its own life-altering, fundamental self-reassessments. Then again, at the end of college, I believed:  “Well, I finally know who I am, and I get life. Phew!”  I was wrong.  Again.

I’m not sure if you can ever be “you,” or that you can ever “get” life. Because there is no “you” to be, that is, if you define “you” as being a permanent, non-changing organism. There is also no “getting” of life, if you define “life” as also being a permanent non-changing organism. You and life are always changing, so you cannot possibly arrive at any real, concrete understanding of life and you. Other than that both You and Life will continue to change.

I wonder if the idea that change is always happening within us and around us can’t be taught to people at a very young age as a fundamental part of our education.

Because it is change that seems to be the number one factor that causes conflicts in relationships: friendships, romantic relationships, family relationships and community relationships.  How often have you heard that the reason someone broke up was because “he changed” or “she changed” or “he wasn’t the man I married, etc.” How often have you felt that someone in your family did not understand you because they saw you as the child you were when you were growing up, or the rebellious teenager you used to be? Not as the adult you are now?  How often have you seen a community rebel against a fundamental change in society because of fear it might destroy tradition?  They are all working on the idea that there is some part of life that does not change, and they would be wrong about this assumption.

When people do not respect that you are always changing, and are not ever going to be a finished product, they tend to limit you, cause you to stagnate, frustrate you, and this in turn causes conflict. They want you to stay the same, but it’s impossible for you to do so. So you either leave them, or the relationship remains strained, or you lead them to understand the truth:  you have changed, you are changing, and you will always be changing.

It is also unfair for us to expect others to remain the same. If as individuals we understand we are constantly changing from one year to the next, then we cannot expect others to stay the same way we want them to be. If you are experiencing conflict in a relationship, ask yourself:  “Am I allowing this person I love to change? Or am I trying to force them to be a certain way that they used to be, for my comfort?” If it’s the latter then you definitely should try to give this other person the space they need to be their ever-changing self, and hopefully the conflict will be resolved.

Sometimes we are the most resistant to the changes happening inside of ourselves. We don’t want our friends or family to realize that we are not the same person we once were. People often look for consistency and see it as a virtue, or as a point of comfort, but a person can hardly be consistent if their whole molecular structure is in constant flux! It is important that we respect the process of life and allow ourselves to transform when the time has come.

Buddhists will often say that is helpful to see oneself as a wave in a big ocean, interconnected, and constantly changing. You are asked to accept change as the only thing that is certain, and resistant to change is often cited as the main reason for human suffering. A way in which Buddhists suggest we alleviate suffering is working with the change that is happening within and around us. We must adapt, negotiate, compromise, and in some cases surrender or bow down to the changes in our surroundings, or changes inside of us, in order to go forward with the least of emotional damage to ourselves and others.

A very wise person recommended that one should live life like a willow tree. A willow tree bends and bows down when the storm comes, but when the storm leaves, it stands upright again. Other trees, unlike the willow, will stay rigid in the storm, and they will often snap and be broken by the time the storm passes.

I think the lesson to be taken from all of this is that we must allow ourselves to be an ever-changing being in an ever-changing world. Resisting this change is really denying the true nature of who we are, and the nature of life itself.  It isn’t easy, but it’s better that we try to work with the change instead of remaining rigid and break.

much love,

Ollin

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

2 comments on “Change

  1. Lua says:

    Great post Ollin, such an original perspective on change. I always had a rocky relationship with the concept and I agree with you, it is liberating as it is extremely terrifying.
    Change tells me that I will never stop “being” and I will always become a new (and hopefully a better) version of myself but it also tells me that nothing (not even myself) is reliable. And that is a scary thought. Which is why people resist change I guess, because it scares them but then again- if there is one thing that scares me more than change itself, it is the idea of not changing at all…

  2. ollinmorales says:

    yeah, i think that’s what i was attempting to say, but didn’t quite get to it. The upsetting part is that it seems as if we cannot rely on ourselves, or even others for that matter. That’s the part that’s a little unnerving. But I try to focus instead on the much more enlightening and cooler parts of change. Thanks Lua!

Comments are closed.