Letting Go of What You Can’t Control

“En tus manos, dios,

Lo dejo en tus manos…”

In your hands, god

I leave it in your hands.

We want everything to work out exactly the way we want it. In a world of billions of people, billions of different life paths, trillions of different DNA strands that produce trillions of different personalities, we think we can safely determine the outcome of our personal lives.

That’s CRA-zy. And yet we do it ALL the time. When something doesn’t work out the way we expect it, we throw a grown-up tantrum, which translates into:

“I’m having one of those days!” “It’s a bad day today!” “Things aren’t working out for me, why does somewhere up there hate me!”

There it is again. It’s that mentally deranged human tendency to want to control the outcome. In the end when we realize that we cannot control the outcome, we blame ourselves. The future is always our responsibility, even though the future is really the result of both well-intentioned plans and happenstance.

Our human need to control the outcome may seem to be outside of the realm of writing, but it isn’t. Writer’s are always power-hungry and we have a great, burning need to know what is going to happen. Not only with the story we are telling but {equally as nerve-wracking} our careers. We want things to happen quickly, in the right order, at the right time, with the right people, and the right circumstances that move us forward instead of push us back.

We never get exactly what we want. (Although when we look closely, we often get what we need. Paging The Rolling Stones.) When we don’t get what we want, instead of saying: “It’s out of my hands!” we become stubborn and angry, sad and frustrated. We shout (outside or inside) that this or that wasn’t supposed to happen, it’s just not supposed to happen this way!

I’m realizing that we get a lot less done when we think this way. I struggle myself with the need to control the outcome of everything in my life. This need ends up resulting in an overextension of myself that slowly chips away at my personal will power. I will focus too much on what I can never possibly control and thus I take focus away from what it is I can control.

No, I don’t know if people will like the novel I write. No I don’t know if it will get published or become a success. In the end, that part is really out of my control, and thus is not my personal responsibility. It’s in someone else’s hands. The publisher who chooses to pick my book, the reader who for some random reason {maybe it’s the book cover that draws them in} that makes them pick up the book and reads it. Maybe it takes years before that person then recommends that book to someone else. Really the process, like many of life’s processes, are full a bunch of random coincidences that are really out of our control.

So why spend my energy over all that? My responsibility is to show up every day to that page and write. In that action I have great personal will power. However, if I increase my personal responsibility to include all of the random occurrences and travesties of the world, then I become small, weak, helpless and dreadfully useless. What good is that? And what good am I to the world if I only add to the ranks of the disparaging?

So no. I’ll try not to do that. I’ll try not to cage the future in a little box I’ve drawn for it in my mind. It isn’t fair to my future, anyhow. Unlike the times when I take on the role of creator on my laptop, when I live my life, I don’t have to worry about how the whole story ends up.  I am solely responsible for my individual character arc. Which is challenging enough!

So join me in becoming a proactive protagonist. Draw a line between what is in your hands and what isn’t. Because what isn’t in your hands will be taken care of by something far more random than you.

Whether you like it or not.

“En tus manos, dios,

lo dejo en tus manos.”

much love,

Ollin

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

One comment on “Letting Go of What You Can’t Control

  1. […] work and your life flow to where it has to go, is a scary thing. You have to release your need to control and have faith. You have to be a tiny bottle carried by the flood. You have to become a delicate […]

Comments are closed.