Failure.

There are always challenges in life. But some can be more overwhelming than others. Lately, I’ve been thinking about failure and what it can teach us. We always hear the typical answers from others when we have failed (I have told these to myself many times and used them to cheer up others as well):

“Be grateful and focus on what you do have.”

“Learn from it.”

“Try harder next time.  Don’t give up.”

“It simply was not to be” or “There’s always a reason behind things… you’ll see.”

For small or average failures I think all of these are good responses, they place things in context or remind of certain truths about the way the world works.

But how ’bout for the BIGGIES? The failures that come out of absolutely nowhere, the unexpected, or even the relentless ones, the ones that keep coming at you and won’t give up? How do we deal with a failure that seems to have no end in sight? A failure that we thought only gave us a bruise, but when we check back with it we’ve discovered it’s gotten an infection, and if we let linger we fear we might have to amputate a creative limb to get rid of it?

In this case, the typical cheer me ups don’t seem to work as well. And sometimes, even spirituality may not be enough. Not only this but all of your techniques to motivate yourself are not working because that big F bomb has just landed and blown all of your tried and true, meticulously organized, updated and prioritized methods to motivate you. In the same room as a big F, your little motivational techniques can’t even begin to be a match. Motivation has not just been stopped, it’s been nuked.

Where then do we turn to?  Where is the ground that we stand on, if the earth itself has shaken and broken apart?

Well, what I am learning is that when every other method has failed us (and yes even support may not be enough to pull us out of the muck), we have to come to terms with what is.  I talked recently with a good friend about this and he gave some wise advice. Basically, he said, if we tried our very best, what else could we possibly ask of ourselves?  We must relinquish, surrender, put up our white flag and come to terms that there is just too much that is out of our control.

So many things we imagined would happen, may not have happened, or may have come at the wrong time, but what use is it to try to force reality to bend to our will?  When we know it can’t?

What we can do, however, is chose the way we handle the failure, and how we handle ourselves through the process. Do we let ourselves cry when we feel like it? Punch the pillow when a burning anger hits our stomach? Do we remind ourselves to laugh once in a while? Do we allow ourselves to recall our triumphs?

We can take care of ourselves by deciding who we want around in our failure. We can remember to keep our promises to ourselves despite the current setback.  We allow ourselves to recognize a though situation when it is one, without comparing ourselves to others by saying:  “He or she never had to go through this,” or “They had to go through this too and look at how successful they are, why can’t I be as strong as them?” or “This is easy, I shouldn’t complain. There are people gong through far worse things, why should I complain?”

Because you deserve to heal after a failure. Everyone does. Don’t “pull yourself up by the boot’s straps” and “swallow your pride.” When you’re deep deep in the quicksand “pulling on boot straps” is NOT practical advice when you can’t even see your feet! And you shouldn’t “swallow pride.” Instead spit it out. Pride’s a a drug and it’s addictive. Don’t take it, especially when you’ve failed. Pride makes us stubborn and allows our ignorance to linger, but if we simply let go of our pride, then maybe we may be allowed to learn vital lessons, lessons that will allow us to grow and reach that next step. Allow yourself to be honest, allow yourself to be vulnerable. That gives you the room to grow, which means you are taking care of yourself.

Treat yourself well. Allow your setback to move you to treat others with more compassion and grace. Allow yourself to acknowledge the pain. Yes it’s there and it’s real. No you’re not crazy for feeling it.  Pay attention to it.  That’s how you care for yourself. Pay attention to the emotions.

But even so, allow yourself to still enjoy simple pleasures you have always enjoyed. Allow yourself time to rest and heal. You’re not a machine. You’re a human being. Unlike what you may think, humans are not getting colder or losing their ability to feel in the modern world, they’re just as delicate and fragile as they’ve always been. We’re just getting far better at hiding it.

When we fall, we break.  It’s always been the case. So we got to glue the parts of  you back together, Mr. or Ms. Dumpty. How? Give yourself the chance to write that scene or short story or poem the way you always wanted to write it, but you didn’t allow yourself to before because you needed to “succeed” at it. You wrote it to “win” it.  But you lost. So now write it for yourself and no one else. That’s how you deal with failure.

You forget about the rest, forget about those people out there you thought you had to impress, you thought you had to prove something to. Stop trying to make those typical responses to failure (the one’s I mentioned at the beginning of this post) apply to your situation. Your situation is not small or average. It’s big. So make a big move. Dive more and more inside yourself.

Hopefully there, swimming in the natural, imperfect, vulnerable human you are, you may find that maybe winning isn’t so important after all. That getting your way, or not getting your way, either way, doesn’t change the person you are. If you can learn to treat yourself with kindness, then winning cannot be a source of your worth, because you remind yourself of your worth every time you are kind to yourself.  And if there is no real “winning,”then there is also no “losing.”

If you are happy with who you are, then triumph is already yours. No one can take it from you, and at least in those little tiny moments when you are nice to yourself, failure can’t get to you.

We can never determine the outcome of anything. We can be prepared and try our best. But, if things should fall apart, and the advice: “just work harder” or “put things in perspective” or  “it’s destiny” just isn’t cutting it for you, then remember you have one powerful tool left at your disposal:

You can still decide how you will treat yourself in the process.  So, please, chose to treat yourself with love, patience, understanding, and non-judgement.

much love,

Ollin

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

8 comments on “Failure.

  1. junebugger says:

    I’ll have to refer back to this post if the agent who has my full manuscript right now rejects me!!! She asked for a three month exclusive meaning I can’t query to any other agents or do anything productive with my book. But wait. And waiting makes me expect so much. And if she rejects me I think I’ll probably take it really hard. But, as you said, I did my best–so what more can I ask of myself? There’s no point in getting all low spirited over it. There’s always tomorrow. There’s always another thousand agents.

    Thanks for this enlightening article🙂 I’ve added you onto my blogroll!

  2. ollinmorales says:

    Sounds to me that you’re on the road to getting published. I wish you all the best! I hope it works out. Thanks for the add!

  3. Well and truly written (albeit a little detailed). Of course, I have never truly failed completely. I must plan to, if anything worthwhile can come out of me.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    • You’re welcome Keshav! Haha, well I have to tell you that I grew more and learned so much more from my failures than from any of my successes. I think we all benefit from being humbled once in a while. Like P!nk says: “I wouldn’t trade the pain for what I’ve learned.”

  4. […] up completely. Then there were those dark moments when I hit a dead end or felt like an absolute failure. So a guy should be able to catch a break once in a while, […]

  5. […] Failure. {I went through a lot of pain to learn the lessons in this post. I hope it taught you how to confront failure head on.} […]

  6. Krissy Brady says:

    A great post! It’s hard to talk about the ways in which you feel that you have failed–I have one best friend I go to in order to vent, and find that when I talk to her I end up answering my own questions about possible solutions, or what to take from the experience (hysterical, but true). Talking to anyone else seems to dig me deeper into the hole–there’s nothing worse than cliched, hollow sayings when you’re trying to be open, and this is especially the case when you’re a writer. You sit there, dumbfounded, wanting to tap on the mic and go, “Hello?! Is this thing on?!”

    What has helped me through what I consider to be my failures, is taking them, and writing about them, in hopes that I can shield others from making the same mistakes. Instead of “everything happens for a reason,” create a reason instead.

    • Ollin says:

      Great point Krissy. You are right, sometimes you need to bounce of ideas off a friend and in that way you can find your own solutions to your problems.

      Writing about the failure is another great tip. That’s my go-to when nothing else has helped me.

      All great, thoughtful recommendations. Thanks Krissy for sharing your thoughts!

Comments are closed.