How To Get Work

Hello courageous creators!

I have an update about my personal life that I would like to share with you today:

I am now working full-time for The MiTu Network!

The MiTu Network is an online YouTube Network focused on Latino Lifestyle content.

You can visit us at: www.youtube.com/user/mitu

(FYI: not all our videos are in Spanish, we have English-language channels, too. And we are currently working on increasing our English-language channels.)

My primary job at my new company is to help grow and develop the network by bringing in new YouTube talent. (So, if you’re Latino and have a YouTube channel, let me know!)

I just recently started working for The MiTu Network and I have to say: I love the job, the network, and all the wonderful, hardworking people behind it!

The great thing is that I am using many of the skills that I’ve developed and mastered over the last three years as a blogger in this job.

Of course, with any new job, there are always new challenges.

My schedule is no longer as flexible as it used to be, for instance, which means I’ll be posting less often on the blog. (About once a week from now on.) And I’ll have to make some other adjustments here and there.

But, in the end, I know it’s all for the best and I’m excited about this new opportunity!

How To Be Relieved of The Stress Of Looking For Work

In honor of my new gig, today I would like to talk to you about work and how to get it.

These days, work seems to be an ongoing theme for our generation.

Today, with the way things are, its seems that everyone wants to know how to find work, how to get it, and how to keep it.

So much anxiety and fear and stress surrounds this wonderful human virtue: the ability to be useful to the rest of humanity—the ability to work.

But most of our anxiety, fear, and stress about work comes from a simple spiritual misunderstanding: we believe that we are entitled to the fruit of our work.

But we are not.

I know. You don’t like me saying this.

But what I am saying is not an opinion. It is a fact.

We are not entitled to fruits of our labor. There is no guarantee, no promise, no sure-thing that the work we do will give us any tangible, material benefit in the short-term.

I know this runs contradictory to how modern society views the nature of work. It’s actually the complete opposite of how society views the nature of work.

Society believes we are not entitled to labor, but we are entitled to the fruit of our labor.

But, in actuality, it is the other way around: we are entitled to work, but we are not entitled to the fruit of our work.

I want to be absolutely clear: I’m not saying that we should put it into our laws that people shouldn’t get paid for their hard work. Please do not misunderstand me. That statement would be ludicrous.

No, I am not speaking of our laws, our governments, or our political, economic systems here.

I am simply speaking of life and the fact that, in life, we are not always rewarded for the work we do, and we only cause ourselves great stress, anxiety, and fear if we always expect to be rewarded for the work we do.

This sounds like radical concept, I know. But it is an ancient concept, expressed quite eloquently in the old Indian spiritual book, The Bhagavad Gita

The Bhagavad Gita states very clearly that the only thing any of us is entitled to is work.

That’s it. Not the fruit of the work. Just the work.

At first, it may seem that the right to work is a very little thing. But it is not. If you look at it in the right light, you’ll see that having the right to work is a great gift.

Because if we are all entitled to work, then that means that the work is always available to us.

You need not wait for someone to hand it over it to you. Anyone, in any status, in any situation, in any place, can work.

Therefore, if you stop searching for the fruit of your work and only look for the work itself, instead, then you will find that work is to be had absolutely everywhere.

This world hungers for more workers. Workers willing to contribute to the growth and success of humanity. And the wonderful thing is that everybody can work (even those who have perceived limitations can work in their own, unconventional way).

Right now, at this moment, everyone can work to help others.

What I am trying to argue is that work is first and foremost a spiritual exercise (more so than an economic one); and if you look at work from that lens, the search for work, the desire to get it, and to keep it, loses much of its fear, anxiety, and stress.

How To Get Work

You may think I am crazy for suggesting that having the ability to work is, in itself, a gift.

But if you do think I’m crazy, then you are greatly underestimating the power of work.

If you, today, are struggling to look for work, and there is no work to be had, then I would suggest that you stop searching—and start working.

Work works on a spiritual plane—just like everything else does–and the spiritual law as it applies to work is this: only work begets more work.

So, you want to work? Then work. Don’t wait to find it, don’t wait at all. Just get to work.

If you have no idea where to get started, just start right in front of you: what in your life appears to need a lot of work? Find that gap, and then fill in that gap. Do the work.

If you have no idea where to get started, but you do know what your passion is, then, by all means, please begin the work there!

Begin the work of fulfilling your passion today.

Any kind of work always begets more work, but the work of your passion will always beget work that compliments your passion. This is a spiritual truth.

For example:

Three years ago, when I started this blog, I wasn’t “working,”at least not in the conventional sense.

But still, during that time, I never told anyone I was “unemployed.” I never used that term. (In fact, I still don’t use that term when I refer to that period of my life.)

It’s not that I am stubborn or in denial.

When people would ask me what I was doing during that time, I would tell them:

“I’m working on my novel and I’m working on growing my blog! I’m very busy!”

I never said I was unemployed at the time because I was very much employed. Was I seeing the fruit of that employment at that time? No, not really. Not in the conventional sense. But it didn’t matter. It was work. And I didn’t know it then but that work begat more work.

My work on my novel begat the work of my blog which begat my freelance work which led me to my current job.

So, if you are unemployed, I would suggest that you please stop saying that you are unemployed. Say that you are very much employed in This and That; because the truth is that you may very well be employed in This and That, even if you are not seeing the “fruit” of all that work.

In my experience, if you ever find yourself “unemployed,” simply employ yourself, and more employment will arrive from that employment.

It sounds simple but it’s true.

Why Work Begets More Work

The reason work begets more work is because:

1. Work gets you noticed.

2. Work gets you appreciated.

3. Work gets you experience.

4. Work gets you a following of people who love and respect the work you do, who may refer you to someone who can get you more work.

You can also think of it this way:

If you do not work, then how is anyone to know you are ready to work? If you do not work, how can more work come your way? If you do not work, how will anyone know you can be trusted with their work?

Even if you find that you cannot get paid for the work you do in the short-term—it is work and work, in itself, is very valuable. (Note: but be careful, if short term turns into extended long term, or abuse, then this is exploitation and should be avoided.)

Work in and of itself is valuable because it can be used as a type of “currency” to “purchase” more work in the future–work that will make you physical currency.

In the end, nothing is more respected than an individual who does good work, no matter who they are, no matter where they are, and no matter what they do.

And people always take note of that.

Even if I am never able to relish in the fruits of my labor while I live, if I do good work, then at least I know that when I die I will be remembered as someone who did good work.

But if I spend my life searching for the fruits of my labor, and I never do any labor, then I shall certainly be forgotten. Because I will have become a man who chose not to do a single day of good work–the only thing I was ever entitled to do.

much work,

Ollin

Today’s Courage Exercise

Have you been searching for work, but have been unable to find it? Or have you found work, but are afraid you cannot keep it? If all this is so, try focusing on just doing the work and allow that work to beget more work for you.

A great place to start is to begin the work of your passion. (If you don’t know what your passion is, then simply begin working on an area of your life that needs work.)

Now, while you’re doing all of this, do not worry about the fruits of your labor—you are not entitled to that. Remember that you are only entitled to the labor itself. Hopefully, this will relieve the stress, anxiety and fear associated with doing the work itself. (But do not be surprised if all your work does bear fruit, in the end.)

*Note: this post is speaking of a spiritual truth not a political or economic one. I believe everyone in our laws should be paid for their work, of course. But I am not speaking about man made laws here, I am speaking of higher laws. Of course to speak of these things always leads to misunderstanding. I just want to make it clear that I am in no way suggesting workers ought to be exploited. I would never be in favor of such a thing.

>>> Blog Update: In order to accomodate my new time constraints, I will be posting on the C2C only once every Monday from now on (except on some Holidays.) C2C’s monthly Newsletter will be on hiatus for the time being, and Words On My Radar will also be put on hold for some time. Thank you for your patience while I adjust to my new schedule! – O

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

15 comments on “How To Get Work

  1. Dear Olin,
    I’m not exactly sure when I started reading your blog but for a long time I have and I am always uplifted by your words. Your perspective fits into many situations in my life. I admire your fortitude to keep going and the clarity in which you express your ideas. Good luck on your new job and I look forward to your continued insights.

    Thanks
    Georgia

  2. Kari says:

    I am a believer. These practices have (consciously) worked for me in my life since 2003.

  3. The idea of working for the sake of work has unfortunately not been a popular one as of late. It’s good to see people who still see the value of such endeavors. Keep it up and congrats on the job! You definitely earned it.

  4. Ollin, excellent post on the value of work and action in itselt. Forgetting the fruits of your labor is a courageous thing to do. I know my passion – writing – and I’m going to use it with my blog and steadier contributions to it. I have also recently planned 3 writing retreats (without leaving town) in the next 3 months – Fri. through Sun. I realized the other day that I need to create some goals for those retreats, and that will be part of my work, too. I want to work as a freelance, paid writer, but I also realized I couldn’t (& shouldn’t) give up my own creative writing. First project: taking my completed memoir and changing identities to protect people in it. I have to do that with great care. With hard work that I am looking forward to doing! Thanks as ever. And Congratulations on your new job with MiTu. -Dana

  5. lythya says:

    Interesting thought. It is very hard for me to wrap my head around the words “we are entitled to work”. While I get and appreciate what you mean, having grown up on a farm myself, I know that those words could be ill used. Imagine a dictator saying those words. Isn’t that pretty much what communisme is saying, after all? It would make a great argument for slavery.
    However, I wholeheartedly agree with you, but only because you’re explaining it right. Haha.

  6. Allison says:

    Ollin, once again, you have such incredible insight. I feel this is a life lesson I’ve been learning recently. For several months, I worked very intensely on a project to present to upper management in the company I work for. I prepared relentlessly and made sacrifices in my personal life to ensure that I would have a solid presentation. However, when I made the presentation this past week, it did not go nearly as well as I would have hoped. I unintentionally omitted important information and my speaking was nervous and unorganized- regardless of all the time and effort I spent preparing, I did not enjoy the fruits of my labor. An observer would believe that I hadn’t done my job and was just an incompetent employee (even though that is definitely not the case). In fact, some of my coworkers snickered afterwards and looked down their noses at my misfortune. Since then, I have been trying to come to terms with the situation and have realized that not all hard work pays off. I know that I ruined any chances of being rewarded for my presentation, but I believe that somehow, the process of creating such a presentation improved my character. So this blog post resonates with me- keep up the good work, Ollin!

  7. My Mom, who is a Hindu and reads the Gita during her daily prayers, used to tell me the same thing. Thus I found it especially meaningful to read your piece. Beautifully written!

    Congratulations on the new job!

  8. Ollin, I shared your 29 Quotations on Facebook today and another friend just shared it because she liked it so much. Oh! Time to write that blog post about my experience with it. I’ve written from 13 of the quotes so far and I love them all. But it’s time for the blog post, definitely (on my blog). Thanks for inspiring me so long-term! And your post today is still resonating with me.

  9. Ollin,

    This is beautiful stuff. I don’t think I’ve read a single blog post about work that looks at it from the spiritual side. I think people think of work as being compensated in some way. I think of it as Karma. You work, and may this life or in others your efforts will come back.

    I am what you called “unemployed” but am not going to say I don’t have a job anymore because I have started in the world of freelance writing.

    Good luck to you in your new position and may you prosper :)

  10. Excellent post Ollin & strong points you made. Weird to be sure,….but we have another blog-buddy who just told us that very same thing. That she’s working at Mitu. I was trying to remember who it was and asked Inion but like me, it slipped her mind, although she guessed it was Carrie Rubin to which I agreed. Either way, two networing-buds….both just recenty hired to a new job….and both at the same place. How crazy is that?! BOL with the new job, even though you don’t need it, as we are certain you will be completely brlliant being a people person as you are and a sweetheart!

  11. Fantastically written! Very inspiring and so true. Thanks for the perspective reminder.

  12. Edward says:

    Ollin,
    I have got no idea how I landed on your blog, but I am glad I did.
    I have worked for many years, just because I had to make a living.
    Then when I turned fifty, I gave up a good paying job and started working on the things I thought I needed to do to regain my feeling of happiness.
    Now I have less money to spend, but a lot more happiness to give and share with the world.
    Thanks for this great blog,
    Edward

  13. […] How To Get Work « Courage 2 Create […]

Comments are closed.