2 Ways You Can Help Me Make Courage 2 Create BIGGER and BETTER

The best way to motivate me is to tell me that I CAN’T do something.

I don’t often get angry, and as my family and friends will tell you, on even rarer occasions will you find me furious.

But last week was one of those very rare moments when I became furious.

Last week, in response to a post that turned out to be more controversial than I expected–or thought was possible–I was basically told to withdraw my compassion for writers who struggle to write.

There was more said, and I’m not going to go into any details, because this is not that kind of blog, but the thing that upset me the most was that I was basically being told to go against my loving nature and stop offering my compassion to my readers.

Although I was inclined to think that this statement was ridiculous, I couldn’t help but sense that it did come from a very serious place, and this infuriated me.

But then, slowly, I began to thank the person who told me this. Because after what this person said, I became motivated.

A spark was lit in me, and now, I am ready to take the BIGGEST step I have ever taken since I started this blog.

To explain:

You see, this blog really began as a way for me to keep myself accountable to my novel. But, over the months, this blog has grown to become so much bigger than me, and so much deeper than just my individual effort to keep loyal to my writing schedule. My private journey, now public, has become a lifeline for dozens, possibly hundreds, of writers taking the same plunge that I have taken. My story has touched hundreds of readers who are also struggling to summon up the courage to write and the courage to create their own lives from scratch.

I have received comments and e-mails from dozens of people who have struggled all their life to write, who have lacked confidence in their talent, who have been told time and time again by others that they just weren’t good enough. These readers had not received much compassion from others in the writing community, and many have often told me consistently that because of my blog they have been motivated to write again–and to keep writing.

My readers genuinely need my advice and my support and I would NEVER abandon them, or, worse, retract my compassion for them.

Taking this into deep consideration, I have decided that, from today on, I am no longer maintaining this blog just for me–I am maintaining it for you, too.

In fact, I want to make this blog BIGGER and stretch its influence WIDER so that my compassion and love reaches far MORE people. I am going to work HARDER so that MORE writers feel empowered, inspired, and motivated to write and live life to its fullest. I want to ensure that more of them receive the necessary tools they need to write better and to live a happier and healthier life.

For unlike those who would have me retreat, constrict, and close off my heart to the world, I know that love is the most powerful force in this world.

Today, I ask you to help me show the naysayers out there that we writers are not easily toppled, and that we will keep going on, keep dreaming, keep our heads up, despite those who wish to pull us down.

I guess the person who told me that I couldn’t love people who I didn’t know had no idea what gets me going:

The best way to motivate me is to tell me that I CAN’T do something.

Please help me in my mission to make this blog a place that continues to change the lives of writers for the better. Help me continue to make this blog a place of warmth, encouragement and support for writers all over the world.

How Can I Help You, Ollin?

Here are two ways you can help Courage 2 Create become bigger and better:

1. HIRE ME

Here are the services I will now offer on this site to help raise money for the continued growth of this blog:

Writing Consultation: For four years I studied at one of the best universities in the world, and for two years I worked as an English Tutor, helping the highest achieving High School students pass the English portion of the SAT. If you struggle with the technical aspects of writing, I can help you drastically improve those writing skills. Use my contact page to get in touch with me and we can discuss the details.(UPDATE: I am no longer offering my writing consultation service. Thank you to all who took my service!)

2. DONATE

At any time you can go to my donate page and make a donation. Or you can click the button below.  (UPDATE: I am no longer accepting donations. Thank you for all who donated!)

All proceeds will go to covering the costs of maintaining this blog and making it bigger and better so that it reaches a wider audience.

Thank you!

much love,

Ollin


To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

29 comments on “2 Ways You Can Help Me Make Courage 2 Create BIGGER and BETTER

  1. Just two words:

    GO, Ollin!

    Love,
    BrownEyed

  2. articlestogo says:

    Hey, I am in the same business–I sell my writing. Writers write because the have to. Characters live in our heads until they are let loose on paper or by the pounding of the keyboard. Either way, writers must write and deserving of compassion? Ohhhh, how much. I have been an online writer for eleven years. I had short stories and a couple of columns before that in print. But, eleven years ago I had a computer built to my specifications, (you can just run out and buy a great laptop today, yet, that first desktop remains stored and I wouldn’t part with it for anything), and I found all kinds of writing sites to publish to. Then I realized that I could make money quicker and easier online part time at first. Now I am a full time freelance article writer for others. My husband made it possible for me to write full time 4 years ago and I wouldn’t give up those $100.00 weeks for any of the $650.00 weeks from before. I at least make as much as anyone else I know only without the hassle of driving to and from work, paying for lunch out and putting up with nosy co-workers or bossy bosses. I am my own boss, work when I want and am happier than ever.
    Yes, writers deserve your compassion because they do work hard and even though some people still say to me why don’t you get a “real job” they are the same people wanting to borrow a few bucks to pay their light bill. LOL. Guess a person without a “real job” makes it better than them.
    Loved your blog–keep it up.

    • Ollin says:

      Thank you! That’s so great that you are able to make living from you writing. Congratulations! What an outstanding achievement.

  3. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ollin Morales, sillystoryideas. sillystoryideas said: 2 Ways You Can Help Me Make {Courage 2 Create} BIGGER and BETTER: The best way to motivate me is to tell me th… http://bit.ly/fGobii [...]

  4. We all need kudos to keep up going — even if we have to give them to ourselves. Keep up the good work.

  5. Bravo!
    What a wonderful world this would be if more thought like you do.
    It is my honor to “know” you.

  6. Linda says:

    Haters come and go in life, but those who
    treat others with love, compassion and understanding will travel a thousand miles with good friends by their sides. It takes a lot of courage to stand up for others and I am very proud of you. Don’t let anyone bring you down, karma will always do the work for you.

  7. Marnie says:

    I think some people assume that just because a blog is open to comments then anything goes. Although in the end you learned something from that negative comment, it was still highly uncalled for. I don’t mind people disagreeing with me on my blog, but I do take issue with negativity. Keep it coming Ollin!

    • Ollin says:

      Thank you Marnie. I appreciate it. Many of my readers have pointed out that I did not deserve a comment like that, and I know. But it still can be shocking. I totally agree, it’s okay to disagree but keep your negativity to yourself please.

      I WILL keep it coming.

  8. I’m so glad you didn’t let that naysayer get you down! Go for it!!!!!!

  9. Classic says:

    And this, Sir Ollin, is why we love you and your blog. Keep goin’ strong! :-D

  10. Now you are truly off the ledge…..can’t wait to see what happens next. Now tell me what I can do for you?:-)

    • Ollin says:

      You know I would love to offer you my writing consultation service. I think you would love it and benefit so much from it. You know my e-mail.

  11. Tammy McLeod says:

    Good for you Ollin! Good luck with it. I’ll be watching.

  12. Cordelia says:

    Three cheers for you, Ollin! It’s because you care about others and have made this blog bigger than yourself that it’s so damn popular. I foresee even greater things for C2C in 2011!

  13. Jeanie says:

    You are an ispiration and I wish I had your energy.
    I blog about a few things, mothering, environment, my home in St John, VI, reggae stories and cram it into 4 blogs but I find it very time consuming. I love it but find I get caught up in the technical and my writing gets set aside.
    My best writing days are when I am alone at the sea.

  14. You’ve been a busy bunny whilst I’ve been away. Good for you Ollin, seriously, not all of us have what it takes to want to really reach out and help others but those who can, should.

    I admit I haven’t got the right personality for that kind of thing. I am just a writer and I want to write my novel and right the ocassional post here and there about whatever I feel like talking about. Not putting myself down, just saying I know my limitiations and what I can or cannot achieve and I’m fine with that :-)

    I have, from the very beginning seen how inspirational your blog always has been and so I wish you all the best with this. I am still up in the air and my internet connection for the next few weeks is rather rubbish so I am still not back but it’s nice to see what progress you have made my friend. You go and reach for the stars!

  15. freudian slip…I meant “write” instead of “right” lol

Comments are closed.