3 Ways To Strengthen Your Faith in Yourself and Your Journey

I know that the word “Faith” can be a loaded word and I want to start off by saying: No, I’m not going to try to convert you to a religion.

I’m not even a religious person. If I am anything, I am a spiritual person. But I’m still trying to learn what that term even means. I still stand firmly by skepticism, reason, and the scientific method, and that won’t go away any time soon. But I also know that life is hard. And sometimes we need to reach for something beyond what we see before us to move us through it.

Now, I am about to do something that I don’t think I’m supposed to do, but I’m about to take the term “faith” and extract it from any religious, spiritual, or even atheist context. I’m going to be talking about “faith” today as a concept all on its own. Like patience, or persistence, or doubt. For the moment, I’m also going to remove “faith” from any association from a god, the universe, the spirit, the source, what have you. Not because it should or shouldn’t be associated with those terms, but because I think it is interesting to focus on faith as its own, singular phenomenon.

Whereas Hope is the belief that things can get better, Faith is the knowing that things will get better.

You may be asking the question: Well what does faith have to do with writing?

If you assert that faith has nothing to do with the writing process, I would have been the very first one to agree with you–until about 9 months ago, when I started writing my novel.

Sometimes, as a writer, you are acting on pure, unadulterated, faith. A knowing that your position as a writer will get better.

Hope isn’t enough. Just believing things will get better is not enough. You have to KNOW that it WILL get better.

But faith is a thing that can be threatened. It can be weakened, especially by those around us who have trouble keeping the faith. This is why I think it is interesting to extract faith from a religious context. Because I have known heavily religious people who lack faith, and I have known people who don’t have a spiritual or religious bone in their body, and yet have such a strong sense of faith in humanity and the world, that it is almost awe-inspiring. Meanwhile, as a country, and as a civilization as a whole, we are losing faith. We are losing the knowing–the certainty–that things are improving for the better.

Recently, I was pondering the following question:  how do we writers strengthen our faith? Because when we lose faith in ourselves and our path, we can easily give up and throw in the towel.

Now, I’ve come up with some ideas to help us, but I want to hear your ideas, too. I think this is an issue of concern for all of us, and especially writers, who have to confront rejection, disappointment, and despair more often than most people. Here are ways we writers can strengthen our faith–the certainty that life is moving in the direction of our personal well-being.

3 Ways To Strengthen Your Faith in Yourself and Your Journey

  • Examine Your Personal Experience. Was there another time when you thought you were at your last rope, or things were just not looking good, and then they improved? Chances are you will find proof of this over and over again in your life, that the moment things went wrong, things began to go right. Your suffering either helped you grow or it taught you an important lesson. Deepak Chopra refers to the suffering of life as a “divine discontent.” He says that if we did not have suffering, we would have no creativity, we would not move, we would not grow. A little suffering is necessary for life. Think about it. A world without suffering would remain stagnant and frozen. A world with suffering allows us to grow, to become closer, to become kinder, gentler, and brings us to feel our interconnectedness. Our one heart. Find a moment when you suffered and were healed, then ask yourself: “How different am I now because I suffered?” Chances are, you are wiser and better off because of that pain. Have faith that your current suffering will serve you in the future.
  • Put Your Situation In Context. I recently commented on fellow bloggers site and made a bold statement. I said that this was the best time for humanity in the entire history of the world. I don’t think I’m wrong either. If you examine the entire history of our collective human suffering, there are whole ages where we as a society suffered much more than we do now. I don’t have to list them because I am sure you know which tragic events in history I am talking about. Did these ages of suffering last? No, they did not. They passed. Suffering and war gave way to happiness and peace. If you take the long view, you can see that we are becoming more and more equal, more and more free, more and more accepting of each other. A report in a recent Time Magazine article even noted that, in the last decade, the amount of people living in poverty in the world was cut in half. Humanity must be doing something right after all. The concentration of the wealth of the world used to be in the hands of a couple dozen of kings. Today the wealth is a bit more spread out. Sure, we can do better, but it is clear, without argument, that humanity is going in an overall good direction. Your journey as a writer is a part of that overall move to the greater good. As you can see, you just have to look at history to realize that faith isn’t some fuzzy, abstract notion, but an idea powered by real, concrete facts.
  • Realize That There Are No Experts. Not even me. I’m not sure why it is, but when someone calls themselves an “expert” we throw away all skepticism and believe every word they say, even if their message is full of doom and gloom–and these days, it often is. Remember now, these “experts” are just human. Just like you and me, and they don’t know everything. There are no soothsayers. No one has a crystal ball. The only expert that really exists is you. You know from living life that the world works in an obvious pattern. Night and Day. Up goes down. Dark becomes light. When it rains, it pours, yes, but eventually it’s going to have to stop raining. It’s just common sense. You know it will all work out eventually. You know because you’ve seen it, time and time again, and you don’t need an expert to tell you otherwise. It may be hard to be a writer now, but you know, you’ve always known, that one day, it will get better. Without a doubt. And that’s faith.

much faith,

Ollin

How do you keep the faith as you continue to embark on your writing journey?

To follow the Courage 2 Create and find out what happens to Ollin and his novel, you can subscribe by inserting your e-mail into the subscription box in the top right corner of the sidebar! Subscription is completely free! Thank you for subscribing!

Like Courage 2 Create’s Fan Page.

Follow Ollin On Twitter.

Friend Ollin On Facebook.

26 comments on “3 Ways To Strengthen Your Faith in Yourself and Your Journey

  1. unabridgedgirl says:

    Beautifully written. Elegant. Stunning.

  2. Ollin says:

    Another great quote and summary of my point, Nancy!

  3. Amala says:

    I am loving your blog. This is a beautiful perspective.

    On a smaller scale, I maintain faith as a writer by looking at my bookshelf. I’ve read about my favourite writers’ struggles and how long it took them to get published, and how hard they worked, and for some of them I know who doubted them.

    The fact that they’re sitting on my shelf and that I love their stories, gives me faith that the same will happen for me.

    • Ollin says:

      That is a great way to maintain faith, Amala. I’ll have to use that one, too. That’s a good one, just look at the books I love dearly and just remember that those authors struggled, too. Sounds perfect.

      I am happy to hear that you are enjoying my blog. :)

  4. Linda says:

    What a beautiful post and a wonderful perspective. I love how you’re approaching your writing in such a holistic way. It’s truly the way we all should look at everything in our lives. It’s so interesting to see how wise you are at such a young age. You’re the best! :)

  5. Addy says:

    Good post Olly.. In past we were suffering from hunger, poverty, war, etc.. now we see the “un-ending suffering” of social netorking sites, blog stats and job security!!!

    Best Wishes,
    Addy

  6. Great post, especially during such a busy time of the year! A few of the writers in our group were starting to “lose faith” as it is, in their books and their ability to write their books. Sometimes though we have to put aside what we want, and focus on what we need and then the rest will fall into place.

    • Ollin says:

      That’s a great outlook writerstoauthors! Love the way you put it. Yes, we need to focus on our work, and the rest will take care of itself.

  7. Kate Jack says:

    This is a fantastic article and kind of lifted the gloom I’ve been under recently as a writer. Faith is indeed a powerful weapon.

  8. Great post. I have lost faith a couple times in my life. As I look back, I realize that it was when I lost faith that things became much more bleak. Now, I must remain vigilant in my faith and in everything I have come to believe in. Even myself.
    Thank you again!

  9. milkfever says:

    We all lose faith in ourselves sometimes, as writers especially, but if we keep believing in ourselves, expecting that we will be repaid for our persistence one day, then it makes the path easier to traverse. Let’s face it, it can be a long journey to publication.
    Thanks for uplifting us all, Ollin. Another great post.

  10. keshav says:

    The most important trait for a human being – Faith. And something which is critical for an artist. Faith in myself has always been shaky. In Fact, I have strong faith in myself botching up things, which, sometimes, appears humorous.

    Anyway when I started reviving my blog, I had little faith in myself and now after 10K views and 150+comments, I have more faith in myself.

    But I wonder why I (we) have to prove to ourselves before we can have faith. It should always be the other way around.

    • Ollin says:

      Very true, Keshav. Thank you again for another thoughtful comment. Yes, we always seem to need to prove ourselves to ourselves on a constant basis. It is difficult. We tend to fall short of our own expectations for ourselves. I’ll have to think about how to solve that problem.

      But I’m glad you have grown to have more faith in yourself.

  11. Olin,
    Love this post friend! Glad your not trying to convert…you are great at enhancing the journey!
    Much love

    • Ollin says:

      You’re welcome therosebandit! Yeah, not a fan of people who try to force their religion on you. I respect everyone’s beliefs, but just don’t try to force your beliefs down my throat. I’m glad the post helped you! :)

  12. Maricela says:

    Dear Ollin,
    You have come a long way from our old teatro days! Sorry it took so long to post: I am applying to grad school…again. Good luck with writing the amazing book and the amazing life!

    I want to play with your “faith” theme, just because I feel like I this is something I grapple with on a daily basis. As a writer, I would definitely label myself as an “apathetic agnostic.” I believe that my writing ability “may or may not exist,” but I haven’t cared enough to explore this any further.

    So, I guess I’ll start doing something like a blog to get back into writing again. How do you even start a blog, anyway? Man, I’m so behind the times.

    Thanks for getting me thinking about stuff like this again. I forgot that I actually like doing this, not too long ago.

    Good luck with everything,
    Mari

    • Ollin says:

      You can start one at wordpress.com. That’s the host of my blog. They make it really easy and simple if you just follow the “Help” buttons. You can also follow my blog, the beginning of next year I’m going to offer tips on how to write a blog for beginners, so it should be right up your alley.

      Good luck with grad school, and keep writing Mari! I believe in you, and you are very talented and have so many important things to say and we all need to hear them. So don’t give up your craft. Miss you hermana! :) Much blessings to you and your family this holiday season!

  13. [...] flow to where it has to go, is a scary thing. You have to release your need to control and have faith. You have to be a tiny bottle carried by the flood. You have to become a delicate piece of glass [...]

  14. elderfox says:

    I’ve never given “Faith” a personal thought. However your blog gave me a quest to once again find faith in myself as a writer and friend and to accept the mistakes I’ve made without so much regret and more as a “gift”, one I can trade in for knowledge. Am looking forward to your “blogging” blog :)

Comments are closed.